Not My Daughter

Narrated by: Alex Tregear
Length: 11 hrs and 39 mins
4.6 out of 5 stars (72 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Anna’s hands tense on Alice and she hesitates. In that endless pause, I see all I need to know. She doesn’t want to give Alice to me - not now, and not ever. And part of me doesn’t even blame her.... 

Milly always dreamed of being a mother. Adopted herself, she has always imagined a powerful, intimate connection with a child of her own. So when she and her husband Matt are told they can’t have children, her dreams are shattered. 

But then their loved ones offer the ultimate gift - Milly’s best friend Anna and Matt’s brother Jack will be donors, so that Milly can carry a child and finally have a chance to be a mother. And with everyone accepting and open, Milly believes that nothing could go wrong. 

Except none of the four people involved are prepared for the feelings that will threaten their most important relationships as their precious, longed-for daughter Alice grows up and receives a heartbreaking diagnosis. 

Then those who love her best will have to decide what it means to be a parent, and to make decisions with far-reaching and devastating consequences...for Alice, and for themselves. 

A powerful, heart-breaking novel guaranteed to make you cry, for fans of Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain, and Gracie’s Secret.  

"Heart-wrenching and captivating… as good as anything Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain have ever written… gripping, engrossing and compelling." (bookishjottings.wordpress.com) 

"Oh my gosh! This book is sad, thrilling, gripping and completely pulls on your heart strings… Full of heartache, tough decisions, dilemmas, drama and struggles of everyday life… In two words, simply amazing!" (booksontheshelf.wordpress.com)

"One of the most poignant and life affirming novels… Beautiful, thought-provoking, insightful….and everything in between… Keep the tissues handy, you’re going to need them." (thewritinggarnet.wordpress.com)

©2019 Kate Hewitt (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about Not My Daughter

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Story interesting

The characters were interesting .The social difficults of infertile and post Partum depression were described in real manners .

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pat Gibson
  • Pat Gibson
  • 06-05-19

NOT MY DAUGHTER

Very disappointed and very depressing would not recommend this book to anyone who suffers from depression

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 01-07-20

Brilliant.

A happy sad book, that you can't help becoming involved in. Read beautifully and with character that makes listening a pleasure.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-26-19

Excellent

Emotional and full of life’s grey areas. I really enjoyed this book and the narrator was great.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carla Baker
  • Carla Baker
  • 10-16-19

Loved it

Loved listening to this book. Was very emotional and sad but had some happy moments aswell. This book helps you to understand some struggles people go through with different diagnosis and so it’s good to hear a story about how a family coped with a disease on there child. It was lovely to hear how they make her life as fun as they can and enjoy every moment with her. Very inspirational!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Xstitch sue
  • Xstitch sue
  • 09-20-19

A breathtakingly emotional story.

Although very tragic it was a story that i could barely put down. truly AMAZING!!! I now want to read more of her stories!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sue L
  • Sue L
  • 08-19-19

An excellent moving story told beautifully

I thoroughly enjoyed this moving and surprisingly deep story. It had many twists and turns such that the title was fitting for different characters in different ways. Excellent indeed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms simplydebs
  • Ms simplydebs
  • 06-06-19

just wow

perfectly written i couldn't stop listening. I can't wait to get started on the next one

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SHIRTYGERTY
  • SHIRTYGERTY
  • 06-04-19

emotional and gentle

I really enjoyed this intelligent and gentle book ... a rollercoaster but a caring and compassionate look at a very emotive subject

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sandra
  • Sandra
  • 12-06-19

Great storyline

I really enjoyed this book although it was initially slow . Predictable, cliche, yet I wanted to keep listening and I’m pleased I did because I thoroughly enjoyed the last half of the story. If you like soppy and emotional reads then this is for you.