Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

It hit me, the reality of it, in a way it hadn’t before like a sledgehammer straight to the chest. Laura was gone. She was never coming back. I’d never see her again; she’d never hum in the kitchen, she’d never pull Ruby onto her lap and tickle her tummy as she buried her face in the sweet curve of our daughter’s shoulder.

Nathan West loved his wife Laura with all his heart. But now she’s gone, taken from him in a seemingly random act of violence. Laura was the glue that held their family together. And for Nathan, life without her feels almost meaningless.

As he tries to find hope in the darkness, his three young daughters express their grief in different and challenging ways - with one set on a path of self-destruction that could devastate their family all over again. Desperate to understand his own heartbreak better, he reaches out to others who had known Laura. Including her new friend Maria, whose light and warmth are exactly what their grieving family needs, and who is soon helping out and providing emotional support for them all.

But the picture Maria paints of Laura is unfamiliar to Nathan - of a wife who felt ignored, a mother who felt she couldn’t do enough - and he struggles to reconcile it with his own memories of the woman he loved. Is it possible he didn’t know his wife after all? And can he trust Maria? He can’t escape the feeling that she’s keeping something from him.

Maria is hiding a secret with the power to rock Nathan’s family to its core. Because it is about what happened the day that Laura died....

An insightful and powerful novel guaranteed to break your heart, about how the unthinkable can sometimes help us see the world in a powerful new way. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain, and Susan Lewis.

©2019 Kate Hewitt (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about No Time to Say Goodbye

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Interesting story about sudden family death, grief

liked this but narrator could be better. Even though you are told who was talking, the voice was not any different sounding.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Should Have Been A Male Narrator!

Seriously, when the “husband” is telling the story, why did you not use a male narrator? There are so many great ones out there! This book would have been so much better had you done so.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Treehugger
  • Treehugger
  • 04-27-20

Stunning, beautiful and moving

I can't understand why some of the reviewers have not admired the narrator's style more. I did not find her at all overdone ; she was absolutely perfect very expressive, with a different voice for each character, especially cute little 4 year old Ruby with her squeaky voice. This novel is so so sad and entirely real and believable. The author must have gone through a similar heartbreak herself to understand so well all the ramifications of grief and loss. Anything I could say about the plot would spoil the surprises, but I grew to love each one of the main characters: quiet, dignified Maria with her unimaginably awful hidden past, who longs and fears for a normal family life; grieving Nathan, who is desperately trying to hold it together for the sake of his children but failing miserably; the three children, all entirely believable and coping with the loss of their mother in their own different ways. This is a novel I will be returning to again and again.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 02-21-20

sad

lovely story typical trrnager but all ok in the end , sad that Maria went back home