Nine Women, One Dress

A Novel
Narrated by: full cast
Length: 6 hrs and 57 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (1,710 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In cart

Publisher's Summary

A charming, hilarious, irresistible romp of a novel that brings together nine unrelated women, each touched by the same little black dress that weaves through their lives, bringing a little magic with it.

Natalie is a Bloomingdale's salesgirl mooning over her lawyer ex-boyfriend, who's engaged to someone else after just two months. Felicia has been quietly in love with her boss for 17 years and has one night to finally make the feeling mutual. Andie is a private detective who specializes in gathering evidence on cheating husbands - a skill she unfortunately learned from her own life - and lands a case that may restore her faith in true love. For these three women, as well as half a dozen others in sparkling supporting roles - a young model fresh from rural Alabama; a diva Hollywood star making her Broadway debut; and an overachieving, unemployed Brown grad who starts faking a fabulous life on social media, to name just a few - everything is about to change thanks to the dress of the season, the perfect little black number everyone wants to get their hands on....

Cast of narrators:

  • Robert Fass
  • Dorothy Dillingham
  • Tristan Morris
  • Mandy Siegfried
  • Hillary Huber
  • Cassandra Campbell
  • Erik Singer
  • Dan Woren
  • Michael Crouch
  • Em Eldridge

©2016 Jane L. Rosen (P)2016 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

"In her warm and witty debut novel, Jane L. Rosen writes a love letter to New York City and the tapestry of women who come here with high hopes and big dreams. A little black dress hasn't gotten this much attention since Breakfast at Tiffany's. Whether you're in a stylish sheath or your flannel pajamas, this book will make you feel like a million bucks." (Katie Couric)
"Sweet, delicious, the perfect summer read about the perfect black dress." (Jo Piazza and Lucy Sykes, authors of The Knockoff)
What members say
Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    991
  • 4 Stars
    479
  • 3 Stars
    177
  • 2 Stars
    40
  • 1 Stars
    23
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,111
  • 4 Stars
    353
  • 3 Stars
    76
  • 2 Stars
    25
  • 1 Stars
    10
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    881
  • 4 Stars
    446
  • 3 Stars
    178
  • 2 Stars
    38
  • 1 Stars
    23

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A perfect fit for fans of "Love, Actually." It's a delight!

If you are a fan of "Love, Actually," you will love the storytelling style of this sweet, funny, delightful book--wonderfully performed by an ensemble cast. I have listened to so many audiobooks but this is the first time I've taken the time to write a review. That's how much I enjoyed it. I listened on a recent road trip and would recommend this book to anyone who needs a lift or a laugh. Nine Women, One Dress is a perfect fit.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Life-changing "Little Black Dress"

Loved it ! This was just so much fun, great character vignettes, romance, and the all-important little black dress. If you love fashion this is a perfect, quick listen. All the narrators were great.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved this book!

I thought this book would be just a fun summer read, which it was, but it was so much more. The characters had depth, and the performances were fantastic.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Narration

I felt like I was listening to a play. The usual one, maybe two narrators was replaced by a cast in this book. They were wonderful.
The story was enjoyable, and a fun ode to NYC. I loved that all of the story lines came together. Perhaps that made it more of a fantasy than a plausible story, but what's wrong with that? Nine Women, One Dress is a delight, and a fun summer listen! I wonder if anyone's got dibs on the movie rights yet...

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just do it

I could not stop listening to this amazing story! So wonderfully narrated and heartwarming story!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Captivating from the beginning...

If you could sum up Nine Women, One Dress in three words, what would they be?

Bloomingdales anyone?

What did you like best about this story?

I really enjoyed how this story had different narrators for the different character's portion of their story. I was captivated by the different characters in the book. Rosen did an amazing job of creating characters that you really cared about and had an emotional connection with.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So Fun Like Love Actually!

This was the perfect respite from an increasingly chaotic world. I escaped to a delightful world where love wins.
I adored all the narrators in this full cast. I loved the world of Bloomingdales and the lives of each character.
I especially loved how the theme centered around the black dress---so original and creative.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Surprisingly Good

The stories here all tie together. From an immigrant dress pattern maker to a variety of men and women characters the story weaves and weaves. I'm a thrillers and mystery kind of guy reader and this seems to tilt toward a female audience. Nevertheless, I thoroughly enjoyed this one.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Predictable, Light & Fluffy, Just Ok

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

Yes, it is ok- if all you're looking for is a predictable rom-com type book. Light and fluffy. No big epiphanies here.

What about full cast’s performance did you like?

I liked the range of characters, I think without them the book would not have held my interest. The person who compared this to Love Actually was dead on.

Any additional comments?

Overall, this book was just OK. Not sure it was worth the credit.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Damn fun!

As delicious as chocolate cake! Fun and upbeat! The ultimate killer of land attitudes during long commutes and house chores. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful