Try our newest plan – access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Plus plan is $7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $20.97

Buy for $20.97

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A high-stakes online game of dares turns deadly....

When Vee is picked to be a player in NERVE, an anonymous game of dares broadcast live online, she discovers that the game knows her. They tempt her with prizes taken from her ThisIsMe page and team her up with the perfect boy: sizzling-hot Ian. At first it's exhilarating - Vee and Ian's fans cheer them on to riskier dares with higher stakes. But the game takes a twisted turn when they're directed to a secret location with five other players for the grand-prize round. Suddenly they're playing all or nothing - with their lives on the line. Just how far will Vee go before she loses NERVE?

With Nerve, debut author Jeanne Ryan delivers an intensely gripping suspense thriller perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.

©2012 Jeanne Ryan (P)2015 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

More from the same

What listeners say about Nerve

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    475
  • 4 Stars
    307
  • 3 Stars
    210
  • 2 Stars
    89
  • 1 Stars
    39
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    571
  • 4 Stars
    241
  • 3 Stars
    144
  • 2 Stars
    33
  • 1 Stars
    23
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    411
  • 4 Stars
    261
  • 3 Stars
    177
  • 2 Stars
    100
  • 1 Stars
    59

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Nice fun read

to be honest I didn't know that this book existed until I saw the trailer of the movie .. since then I decided that I would read the book first then watch the movie .. expecting something like the trailer I was surprised that the whole trailer of the movie was all made up .. not a single shot in there was in the book, but that's not necessarily a bad thing .. I found the book really enjoyable and fast since it all takes place in a span of a few hours, the dares was kind of a cliche but I was hooked through out the book, the narration was good and did have a variety of voices that made the story seemed somewhat richer, but I did have some issues with the book, specially the ending, I felt it was too clean and fast I didn't even understand it, and also we don't know anything about Ian the whole book .. just that he is a good guy ..

this is the perfect book for fans of Panic by Lauren Oliver

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

the girl is a bit melodramatic.

I find it annoying when main characters feel the world owes them something, or that it revolves around them... I don't know just my opinion.
the story could be better

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Better than the movie

I loved this book. The narrator was so easy to listen to and to follow along. The suspense was great and better than the movie!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

YA psychological thriller

If you enjoyed the games part of The Hunger Games you'll enjoy this book. YA psychological thriller that also offers a subtle commentary on modern society's "share and steam everything for likes" mentality

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing!!

this is by far my favourite story, I actually just got the book after listening to this
I will definitely be listening again
the narrator fits perfectly with Vee

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good, not great.

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

This is a hard question. I'm excited for the movie, because Emma Roberts and Dave Franco are amazing young actors; however, this book is just too simplistic. I'm glad I read the book, so I have something to compare it to, but there is a chance (AND I NEVER SAY THIS), that the movie might be better than the book. Obviously, I haven't seen the movie, so I have no clue.

Would you recommend Nerve to your friends? Why or why not?

No. Unfortunately, I don't think my friends would find this as "okay" as I did. I think they'd hate it.

Would you listen to another book narrated by Caitlin Davies?

Maybe. Her take on our society's OBSESSION with social media and our lack of privacy is very interesting. It wasn't executed perfectly, but it did have its moments. It would depend on the synopsis of another book.

If this book were a movie would you go see it?

Like I said above, I'm excited for the film to come out!

Any additional comments?

This all sounds negative, but it was semi-entertaining and I was able to get through it. I'm the type of person that can drop a book and never pick it back up if I'm not liking it. I will say there's one scene that bugs the crap out of me. The scene where all of the NERVE players are brought together and everyone acts the way they do. It made no sense. I'm not going to give anything away, but if you read the book, you'll know what I'm talking about. No one acts this way. I feel like they must have all been drugged, but there was no reference to that happening. So, read it for the sake of reading a book where the movie is coming out. That's what I did.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good suspense

Could not stop listening.
Did like the reader.
I recommend this book, even if the end leaves me on my appetite!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Intense, but bland

I really liked it, but I felt like it has been a little overhyped. It wasn't as intense as I thought it would be. I did like it though and I intend to see the movie.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

What will happen next?

What did you love best about Nerve?

Wondering which dare she would have to do next was always interesting to find out

What did you like best about this story?

the ending just kind of trailed off.. a lot of questions left unanswered.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A good summer read

The narration was good and easy to follow. The plotline was what you would expect from the movie trailers and the backcover. The book was an interesting summer read. I had trouble putting it down, but it was quite short.

3 people found this helpful