Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Fans of William Gibson, Jonathan Letham, and Richard K. Morgan will enjoy Strictly Analog by Richard Levesque.

What's a private detective to do in a future where nothing is private? That's Ted Lomax's problem. In the new California, a corporation runs the government, electric cars have drive tones, and a new technology keeps everyone constantly connected to the Internet. Almost everyone.

Disabled in California's war for independence, Ted is locked out of the new tech. Living on the fringes of society for years, he's found a way to turn his disability into cash: finding clients who need their info kept off the grid.

But when his daughter is accused of murdering her boyfriend - an agent in California's Secret Police - Ted has to dig himself out of the hole he's been in. To save his daughter, he ventures into a shadow world of underground hackers, high-end programmers, and renegade gear-heads, all of whom seem to have a stake in California's future.

It soon becomes clear it's about more than one dead agent. Solving the case might save his daughter. And it might get him killed. And it just might open the door to secrets surrounding the attack that almost killed him eighteen years before.

One thing's certain, though. Ted Lomax will never be the same.

©2012 Richard Levesque (P)2014 Richard Levesque

Critic Reviews

"...Fast-paced futuristic thriller..." ( Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    161
  • 4 Stars
    242
  • 3 Stars
    141
  • 2 Stars
    38
  • 1 Stars
    12

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    158
  • 4 Stars
    193
  • 3 Stars
    122
  • 2 Stars
    49
  • 1 Stars
    24

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    160
  • 4 Stars
    222
  • 3 Stars
    123
  • 2 Stars
    34
  • 1 Stars
    10
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I HAD TO WRITE EVERYTHING DOWN

DO YOU WANT TO SEE ME DEPORTED TO ARIZONA
Just like THE GIRL AT THE END OF THE WORLD, this book enjoyed a push from Audible, that some much better books did not get. It premiered at the top of several lists and has been included in every sale available. The first three pages of reviews with the exception of one, praise the book for it's smarts and excitement. Once the readers got a hold of hit, it's rating sunk to 3.9, which is not good. The America presented does seem unique, but the story and lack of character development is boring. Some reviewers would lead you to think Noir means boring. My first Noir books, were James M. Cain, and those books are entertaining and exciting. This is the second Levesque book I have had to quit, there will not be a third.

48 of 58 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow. Reviews are all over the place

I paid for this book. I do not get paid to review. It was a very solid 4 to 4.5 star book. It has a hint of noir, a hint of detective work, and a hint of future fiction. I am not sure why so many familiar reviewers, who normally like similar books to me slammed this so hard.

It is not deep fiction. It is not traditional sci-fi. It is investigator/detective fiction with a sci-fi tech component that is treated like it is a perfectly normal component of the world the story is set in. Actually, if you like Patrick Lee's Travis Chase series - this is pretty much the same kind of mystery-sci-fi blend.

The narration is fine. The pacing is good. It is not graphic and there is no sex or swearing. I did check to see if there are other books in this series and if there were, I would have bought them.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good read

I loved the author's take on our digital future and the main character's analog style. I enjoyed the Steven Jay Cohen's performance even more the longer the book went.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Kingsley
  • Henely Brook, Australia
  • 03-14-15

Nice noir feel for a techno-mystery

This book is part Orwell's 1984, part Scalzi's Lock In (although this book came out before Lock In parts of it remind me of Lock In. I'm sure Lock In and this are not the only ones to have these elements to them anyway) and part... Crichton's Disclosure. Disclosure was the one with the virtual reality file storage system, wasn't it? Maybe a little ready Player One too, in terms of the dystopia where everyone is online all the time. Just without the 80's references.

Set in a world where everyone is connected to the internet semi permanently using something akin to Google Glass. Our hero, Lomax, is a war veteran private eye (aren't all private eyes war veterans?) who doesn't use the eyeware interface and prefer to do things old school. This puts him in a perfect place to investigate certain crimes and events because he looks at things differently and doesn't rely on just the electronic information.

The world it is set in - a post-succession war California, with police that verge on Orwell's thought police - is a great idea and I would be interested to read other stories set here. Levesque works through a lot of the implications and possibilities of this world, while leaving enough space to allow for more stories.

Non of the character or their actions struck me as unbelievable and the story worked pretty much organically other than one or two minor things. And those minor coincidences of story were not so much that I couldn't be just accept them and move on.

Would recommend if you are like detective stories and the possibility of where 'big data' etc is going.

---

Steven Jay Cohen is enjoyable as the narrator. probably a 3.5/5 but bumped to a 4/5 cost I cant do half stars.

The voice he gives for Lomax and the general narration (which is 1st person) suits the story very well. Give is an old time noir detective story feel and provides a world weariness to the character. I don't know if this is intentional or if this is the narrators 'resting' voice. i'll give the benefit of the doubt and say it is intentional. There are a few times the tired/weariness could have gone away as the character, in that moment, should have been showing a little more excitement than was given but generally it was enough.

A variety of small changes to accent and voice also differentiate characters enough to be clear on when who is talking changes.

A few small issues existed in the narration. I felt the gate of it was a little slower than most readers. This is fine as the audible app provides speed control. Occasionally there would be slightly longer pauses mid sentence that were a little off too. Most likely when the narrator was turning the page. Nothing major.

An enjoyable work of narration, I would be happy to listen to other stuff by Seven Jay Cohen.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Matrix Noir

In a dystopian future, everyone logs in to the computer network through technologically integrated glasses. The catch is that you need both eyes for the signal to work, and Ted Lomax lost an eye years ago while fighting on California's side of the border war against a collapsed United States. Now he works as a private detective, making his handicap an asset. There are lots of people who don't want the attention that computer use would attract from the corporate government, so Lomax advertises his services with the slogan "strictly analog." But his life changes when his daughter is accused of murdering her Secret Police boyfriend. In order to clear her name, Lomax has to make a circuitous journey that takes him past every comfort zone in both reality and cyberspace.

Steven Jay Cohen's narration is flat and dry, which fits the noir tone of the book perfectly. I enjoyed listening to this book; I got through it in just a few days while commuting, and even found myself wanting to listen to it when I was home, a rare occurrence for me. If you enjoy noir-style mysteries and well-developed dystopian worlds, this book is for you.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Stephen Cohen is the main character

Loved the book, but really enjoyed the narrator - he helped bring the characters to life.

The book is very believable- set not to far in the future.

It made my commute bearable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Comes on slow

Then it twists your concept of reality. Spell binding. After awhile could not stop listening.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Ted
  • Lancaster, PA, United States
  • 06-25-17

Tired Cliché Riddled Plot and Characters

ZZZZZZZzzzzz,,,,

Whuh? Oh did I awake for a moment during this thing? Long enough to write these notes to remind me not to buy another Richard Levesque novel? Um, yeah, guess so. The plot was dull, but not duller than the characters who did every predicable thing... And Steven Jay Cohen couldn't rescue this thing.

Save your credits... And time. I'll save my credit by returning 'Strictly Analog' but my time's all gone. Sniffle...



7 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Fun Listen.

going on Definitely gets your imagination running. I just was hooked from the beginning.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fascinating Premise

Cyber-dystopia in future California. Excellent, understated narration, I listened to the whole book in one go.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful