• My Oxford Year

  • A Novel
  • By: Julia Whelan
  • Narrated by: Julia Whelan
  • Length: 9 hrs and 58 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (8,224 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
My Oxford Year  By  cover art

My Oxford Year

By: Julia Whelan
Narrated by: Julia Whelan
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $25.19

Buy for $25.19

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Major motion picture already in development with Temple Hill Entertainment

Set amid the breathtaking beauty of Oxford, this sparkling debut novel tells the unforgettable story about a determined young woman eager to make her mark in the world and the handsome man who introduces her to an incredible love that will irrevocably alter her future - perfect for fans of JoJo Moyes and Nicholas Sparks.

American Ella Durran has had the same plan for her life since she was 13: study at Oxford. At 24, she’s finally made it to England on a Rhodes Scholarship when she’s offered an unbelievable position in a rising political star’s presidential campaign. With the promise that she’ll work remotely and return to DC at the end of her Oxford year, she’s free to enjoy her Once in a Lifetime Experience. That is until a smart-mouthed local who is too quick with his tongue and his car ruins her shirt and her first day.

When Ella discovers that her English literature course will be taught by none other than that same local, Jamie Davenport, she thinks for the first time that Oxford might not be all she’s envisioned. But a late-night drink reveals a connection she wasn’t anticipating finding, and what begins as a casual fling soon develops into something much more when Ella learns Jamie has a life-changing secret.

Immediately Ella is faced with a seemingly impossible decision: turn her back on the man she’s falling in love with to follow her political dreams or be there for him during a trial neither is truly prepared for. As the end of her year in Oxford rapidly approaches, Ella must decide if the dreams she’s always wanted are the same ones she’s now yearning for.

©2018 Temple Hill Publishing (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"Narrator Julia Whelan performs her appealing debut novel as well as listeners would expect, which is to say, terrifically.... The personalities pop, her pacing is superb, and the realism she injects will keep you wide-eyed." (AudioFile)

Editor's Pick

Just think about this perfection for a minute:
"Julia Whelan, a top-notch narrator in her own right, wrote a love story that captures the dreaminess of Oxford’s halls and one very charming British professor. I couldn’t believe it was her debut novel! I was so impressed… and then I was immersed in the story, crying, laughing, daydreaming…and looking at flights to London. Heh. You think I’m kidding? I’m not kidding."
Melissa B., Audible Editor