Your audiobook is waiting…

My Heart Is an Idiot

Essays
Narrated by: Davy Rothbart
Length: 8 hrs and 58 mins
4 out of 5 stars (38 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Davy Rothbart is looking for love in all the wrong places. Constantly. He falls helplessly in love with pretty much every girl he meets - and rarely is the feeling reciprocated. Time after time, he hops in a car and tears across half of America with his heart on his sleeve. He’s continually coming up with outrageous schemes, which he always manages to pull off. Well, almost always. But even when things don’t work out, Rothbart finds meaning and humor in every moment.

Whether it’s humiliating a scammer who takes money from aspiring writers or playing harmless (but side-splitting) goofs on his deaf mother, nothing and no one is off-limits. But as much as Rothbart is a tragically lovable, irresistibly brokenhearted hero, it’s his prose that’s the star of the book. In the tradition of David Sedaris and Sloane Crosley, but going places very much his own, his essays show how things that are seemingly so wrong can be so, so right.

©2012 Davy Rothbart (P)2012 Macmillan Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hard to put down

I missed sleep because I couldn't stop listening.
Every audiobook should be read by the author!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jo
  • 11-21-15

Glad

I'm so glad I downloaded the audiobook. I feel like I got a much deeper sense of the stories listening to the author himself read them.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Elise
  • SOMERVILLE, MA, United States
  • 04-07-13

A good quick read

This was a fun story to read. There was nothing particularly deep or intricate, but the writing was fun and carefree, which made for a pleasant listen. I almost finished it in one sitting.