Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Murder on Brittany Shores  By  cover art

Murder on Brittany Shores

By: Jean-Luc Bannalec
Narrated by: Jean Brassard
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $15.56

Buy for $15.56

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Ten miles off the coast of Brittany lie the fabled Glénan Islands. Boasting sparkling white sands and crystal-clear waters, they seem perfectly idyllic, until one day in May three bodies wash up on the shore. At first glance the deaths appear accidental, but as the identities of the victims come to light, cantankerous Commissaire Dupin is pulled back into action for a case of what seems to be cold-blooded murder.

Ever viewed as an outsider in a region full of myths and traditions, Dupin finds himself drawn once more deep into the history of the land. To get to the bottom of the case, Dupin must tangle with treasure hunters, militant marine biologists, and dangerous divers. The investigation leads him deep into the perilous, beautiful world of Brittany, as he discovers that there's more to the picturesque islands than meets the eye.

Steeped in the enchanting atmosphere of Brittany, peppered with wry humor, and full of delicious local food, this superbly plotted mystery is perfect for fans of Martin Walker and G. M. Malliet.

©2016 Jean-Luc Bannalec (P)2016 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What listeners say about Murder on Brittany Shores

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    59
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Most enjoyable. Great narrator.

This book is the second in the series set in Brittany. What a nice trip! I have never been to Brittany nor to the Glennan, the archipelago off Brittany's shores. The author successfully described the setting as another character in the plot. Life there was engagingly pictured, and I would like to go there sometime.

The narrator Jean Brassard really made the book come alive. He was able to communicate the personality of each character, something only the best narrators can do well. Brassard has that talent. (Sad to read that he will not be narrating the rest of the books in this series. I think I will just read them instead of listening.)

The story line centered around the interesting main character le Commisario Georges Dupin, newly moved to Brittany from Paris. A large part of his personality is communicated by the narrator.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great!

thriller, suspense, international-crime-and-mystery, procedural, law-enforcement, maritime, Brittany France

Let's start with: I really enjoyed the book, I have no idea whether the translation was good or bad, and this is the audio (which saved me from feeble pronunciations) so I have been spared any typos.
The due diligence in this case is both well done and beyond the call. Out in the archipelago of Brittany the weather is surprising at the best of times, but when major storms roll in it is impossible (just like mobile or marine radio reception). The case begins with three corpses that have been in the water and progressed on to greed, fraud, and more. I loved it!
Jean Brassard is the narrator who not only sounds like he is Commissaire Dupin but does a great job with all of the characters.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good plot and ambience but . . .

Bannalec made his detective's humorous erratic fussiness of the first book slip into decided peremptoriness and arrogance in this second book. I still like that he makes you really feel like you are on location - in this case - on the beach, the sea with the changing colors and sun and the plot was GOOD but . . . I didn't enjoy it this time because Detective Dupin was insufferable.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hooked on this series, but stopping here.

The narrator makes these books a fun listen and a more authentic telling. I’m very disappointed with the new narrator and wish they were all read by Jean Brassard! I can’t even finish the series on audible as a result :( I’ll have to actually pick up the books at the library… narrators make or break these recordings, Audible!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

visit Glenan Islands, Brittany and good story too

I loved every bit of this -- the character of M. le Commissaire, all the residents of Concarneau and the Glenan Islands, the food, the coffee, the setting in detail, the excellent narrator, and yes, the intriguing story. perfect to listen to while walking. it took me there.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!