adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.47

Buy for $24.47

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Ten miles off the coast of Brittany lie the fabled Glénan Islands. Boasting sparkling white sands and crystal-clear waters, they seem perfectly idyllic, until one day in May three bodies wash up on the shore. At first glance the deaths appear accidental, but as the identities of the victims come to light, cantankerous Commissaire Dupin is pulled back into action for a case of what seems to be cold-blooded murder.

Ever viewed as an outsider in a region full of myths and traditions, Dupin finds himself drawn once more deep into the history of the land. To get to the bottom of the case, Dupin must tangle with treasure hunters, militant marine biologists, and dangerous divers. The investigation leads him deep into the perilous, beautiful world of Brittany, as he discovers that there's more to the picturesque islands than meets the eye.

Steeped in the enchanting atmosphere of Brittany, peppered with wry humor, and full of delicious local food, this superbly plotted mystery is perfect for fans of Martin Walker and G. M. Malliet.

©2016 Jean-Luc Bannalec (P)2016 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What listeners say about Murder on Brittany Shores

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Most enjoyable. Great narrator.

This book is the second in the series set in Brittany. What a nice trip! I have never been to Brittany nor to the Glennan, the archipelago off Brittany's shores. The author successfully described the setting as another character in the plot. Life there was engagingly pictured, and I would like to go there sometime.

The narrator Jean Brassard really made the book come alive. He was able to communicate the personality of each character, something only the best narrators can do well. Brassard has that talent. (Sad to read that he will not be narrating the rest of the books in this series. I think I will just read them instead of listening.)

The story line centered around the interesting main character le Commisario Georges Dupin, newly moved to Brittany from Paris. A large part of his personality is communicated by the narrator.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great!

thriller, suspense, international-crime-and-mystery, procedural, law-enforcement, maritime, Brittany France

Let's start with: I really enjoyed the book, I have no idea whether the translation was good or bad, and this is the audio (which saved me from feeble pronunciations) so I have been spared any typos.
The due diligence in this case is both well done and beyond the call. Out in the archipelago of Brittany the weather is surprising at the best of times, but when major storms roll in it is impossible (just like mobile or marine radio reception). The case begins with three corpses that have been in the water and progressed on to greed, fraud, and more. I loved it!
Jean Brassard is the narrator who not only sounds like he is Commissaire Dupin but does a great job with all of the characters.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good plot and ambience but . . .

Bannalec made his detective's humorous erratic fussiness of the first book slip into decided peremptoriness and arrogance in this second book. I still like that he makes you really feel like you are on location - in this case - on the beach, the sea with the changing colors and sun and the plot was GOOD but . . . I didn't enjoy it this time because Detective Dupin was insufferable.