Your audiobook is waiting…

Miracle Creek

By: Angie Kim
Narrated by: Jennifer Lim
Length: 14 hrs and 5 mins

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far we'll go to protect our families - and our deepest secrets.

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie. He probably didn't even consider it a lie, and neither did I, at first.... 

In rural Virginia, Young and Pak Yoo run an experimental medical treatment device known as the Miracle Submarine - a pressurised oxygen chamber that patients enter for 'dives', used as an alternative therapy for conditions including autism and infertility. But when the Miracle Submarine mysteriously explodes, killing two people, a dramatic murder trial upends the Yoos' small community.  

Who or what caused the explosion? Was it the mother of one of the patients, who claimed to be sick that day but was smoking down by the creek? Or was it Young and Pak themselves, hoping to cash in on a big insurance payment and send their daughter to college? The ensuing trial uncovers unimaginable secrets from that night - trysts in the woods, mysterious notes, child-abuse charges - as well as tense rivalries and alliances among a group of people driven to extraordinary degrees of desperation and sacrifice.  

Angie Kim's Miracle Creek is a thoroughly contemporary take on the courtroom drama, drawing on the author's own life as a Korean immigrant, former trial lawyer and mother of a real-life 'submarine' patient. Both a compelling story and an excavation of identity and the desire for connection, Miracle Creek is a brilliant, empathetic debut from an exciting new voice.

©2019 Angie Kim (P)2019 Macmillan Audio

Critic Reviews

"That wonderful, brilliant sort of book you want to shove at people as soon as you've finished so they can experience it for themselves." (Erin Morgenstern)

What members say