Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Will Faye get her happy-ever-after or will bittersweet secrets ruin the recipe for love? 

Since Faye met her gorgeous Aussie boyfriend Dan, they’ve traveled all over the world to meet in amazing, crazy, and romantic locations. They’ve eaten gateaux in a chateau, chocolate torte in a moonlit port, and even had stolen kisses in a sparkling Christmas market. Neither of them wanted to settle down… until now.  

When Dan asks Faye to marry him and to move to Australia it throws a real spanner in the works. Faye’s daughter Emma needs her here, so moving to the other side of the world - even for a hunk like Dan - simply isn’t an option. Is it?  

Faye’s been down the marriage road before and it ended up with her having Ryan Gosling fantasies while her ex-husband obsessed about the plumbing. Is that what she has to look forward to? Is she ready to end her adventure? And even if she is, how can she be sure Dan is the right man for her? 

A delicious romantic comedy about secrets, second chances and following your heart. Perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Jill Mansell, and Sophie Kinsella. 

©2018 Sue Watson (P)2018 Bookouture

Critic Reviews

"This book had me in hysterics, but the storyline also made me stop and think about the choices we make in life… Absolutely brilliant. If I could give this book more than 5 stars I would, it's worthy of millions more." (The Writing Garnet, 5 stars)

"Oh my gosh you guys, this book had me literally laughing out loud during the first chapter! Before long I had tears streaming down my face, it was THAT funny." (Novel Gossip, 5 stars)  

"If you want a book to make you laugh your a*se off and cheer you up then Sue Watson needs to be top of your list!" (Best Crime Books And More)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not perfect, but I still found myself smiling

Hmmm, I have complicated feelings about this book. To be honest, I almost gave up a quarter of the way through. Personally, I felt that Faye, the main character, was bitter, immature, narcissistic, and incredibly selfish in the beginning. Additionally, I strongly disliked Faye’s granddaughter, Rosie, who was overly precocious and behaved in a way that no toddler would. These two characters made the first part of the story a touch stressful and unpleasant to listen to. Perhaps the fact that I hadn’t read the first installment of this series contributed to my initial lack of connection with the characters.

Nevertheless, after pushing through, the narrative did pick up halfway through, and I found myself starting to enjoy the idyllic Australian setting as well as the relationship between Faye and Dan.

I struggled to rate this novel; if you'd asked me at the start, I would’ve given this book a one-star review. However, now that I've finished this book, I believe that I'd give the book three stars; it wasn't perfect, but there were still key moments where I found myself smiling. Maybe, I will now go back and read “Love, Lies and Lemon Cake” to see how Dan and Faye's story all began.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Mrs. E. C. Davis
  • 08-05-18

Sorry

Couldn’t get in to it. A book needs to grab me in the first few chapters