Your audiobook is waiting…

Little

A Novel
Narrated by: Jayne Entwistle
Length: 14 hrs and 14 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (109 ratings)

Regular price: $31.50

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The wry, macabre, unforgettable tale of an ambitious orphan in Revolutionary Paris, befriended by royalty and radicals, who transforms herself into the legendary Madame Tussaud.

In 1761, a tiny, odd-looking girl named Marie is born in a village in Switzerland. After the death of her parents, she is apprenticed to an eccentric wax sculptor and whisked off to the seamy streets of Paris, where they meet a domineering widow and her quiet, pale son. Together, they convert an abandoned monkey house into an exhibition hall for wax heads, and the spectacle becomes a sensation. 

As word of her artistic talent spreads, Marie is called to Versailles, where she tutors a princess and saves Marie Antoinette in childbirth. But outside the palace walls, Paris is roiling: The revolutionary mob is demanding heads, and...at the wax museum, heads are what they do.

In the tradition of Gregory Maguire's Wicked and Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, Edward Carey's Little is a darkly endearing cavalcade of a novel - a story of art, class, determination, and how we hold on to what we love.

©2018 Edward Carey (P)2018 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"An amazing achievement.... A compulsively readable novel, so canny and weird and surfeited with the reality of human capacity and ingenuity that I am stymied for comparison. Dickens and David Lynch? Defoe meets Margaret Atwood? Judge for yourself." (Gregory Maguire, New York Times best-selling author of Wicked)

“Carey channels the ghosts of Charles Dickens, Henry Fielding, and the Brothers Grimm to tell Marie's tale, populating it with grotesques and horrors worthy of Madame Tussaud's celebrated wax museum.... A quirky, compelling story that deepens into a meditation on mortality and art.” (Kirkus Reviews, starred) 

“[A] marvelous, weird, and vividly imagined new novel...A fantastic winter tale, a big, patient read full of reversals of fortune and fabulous glimpses of a time not unlike our own when a new technology of likeness brought the giants of media and politics closer than ever, with its promises of a kind of immortality. Subtly, without calling attention to it, Carey has woven a beautiful parable about the power of that proximity. How we rage to bring the world above and around us down to our size, and yet when we do, the big questions remain: How and who to love? How to be decent? How to be fair?" (Boston Globe)

“An immensely creative epic...Mingling a sense of playfulness with macabre history, Carey depicts the excesses of wealth and violence during the French Revolution through the eyes of a talented woman who lived through it and survived.... The unique perspective, witty narrative voice, and clever illustrations make for an irresistible read.” (Booklist, starred) 

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    80
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    72
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Little is a Treat

I very much enjoyed this somewhat strange and slightly dark book about the woman who came to be known as Madame Tussaud. There’s much to be enjoyed here by lovers of the French Revolution, but also readers who appreciate wax museums, taxidermy or bone rooms. There’s a wonderful quality to this book, like a room filled with long-forgotten and dusty treasures. It seems to invite you to brush away the cobwebs and come inside. Also, I feel that the narration is perfect for this book. I highly recommend it!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Extraordinary!

I am such a fan of Edward Carey, and this story made me into a full-fledged devotee. I usually have audiobooks on as background while I work, but with each new name that popped up I found myself Googling bits of the story. What a life and what an amazing way to tell it. Beautifully told and beautifully narrated.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not what I expected...

I should have done some research about the author before downloading this audiobook because I am not a big fan of his writing style. To me the story was weird, filled with strange details and bizarre situations that made it hard to follow.
The narration though was excellent. I think Jayne Entwistle was the only reason why I was able to finish listening to the story.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderfully shocking!

Entwistle is always a great narrator especially for historical readings. Fantastic listen.

Several times I was moved to say out loud, "thats crazy! how can you just do that!" or something along those lines.

Marie Tussauds is so forward and big for such a little person! I know this is fiction but she did get rather far in the world and survive during horrible times.

Edward Cary does a great job of giving voice to the people of the time and just the right voice for Little as well.

I was sucked in from beginning to the last. Thank you for helping me to know this great little lady!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great historic fiction

This was a lovely book spanning a difficult time in France. Little rises, falls and rises again. Very enjoyable from start to finish, albeit with lots of tragedy along the way.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

what a gem!

I loved The Audible narrator but after listening went to my Kindle and read it.
Sort of a Charles Dickens meets David Lynch. I highly recommend this book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Delightful detail

This book was amazing! The preciseness of language the author uses paints such a vivid picture you feel like you are an observer in the room. The careful crafting of mood and language to convey a response in the reader keeps you captivated from first word to last. The audio performance is stunning and takes the story that last inch into your imagination and provides vivid imagery of the story. Worth the read or listen!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Listen, Don’t Read

This is a book to listen to rather than read. The story is interesting but gets rather drawn out. I was glad I was walking or shopping while listening rather than spending precious hours reading. However, I’m glad I ”heard”the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fiction and truth come together

A great story about relationships and one person's commitment to live in the midst of Great challenges

0 of 1 people found this review helpful