Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Lily and Dunkin  By  cover art

Lily and Dunkin

By: Donna Gephart
Narrated by: Ryan Gesell, Michael Crouch, Donna Gephart
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $20.70

Buy for $20.70

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

California Young Reader Medal winner

Connecticut Nutmeg Children's Book Award nominee

Georgia Children's Book Award nominee

Illinois Rebecca Caudill Young Readers' Book Award nominee

Named one of the best kids books of the year by NPR, New York Public Library, Junior Library Guild Selection, and Goodreads Choice Awards.

For people who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling story about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful journey, perfect for fans of Wonder, will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love.

Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you’re in the eighth grade.

Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he’s called home for the past 13 years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse.

One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change.

©2016 Donna Gephart (P)2016 Listening Library

Critic reviews

One of YALSA's Best Fiction for Young Adults

One of YALSA's Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers

One of ALA's Rainbow Book List—GLBTQ Books for Children & Teens

Rainbow Awards Winner of Best Transgender Book

An Indie Next Pick

"Gephart clearly has a lot of heart, and she tells their stories with compassion."—Kirkus

"A thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention."—Booklist, starred review

“Gephart sympathetically contrasts the physical awkwardness, uncertainty, and longings of these two outsiders during a few tightly-plotted months, building to a crescendo of revelation…[A] valuable portrait of two teenagers whose journeys are just beginning.”—PW

What listeners say about Lily and Dunkin

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    59
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story