• Lady of Devices: A Steampunk Adventure Novel

  • Magnificent Devices, Book 1
  • By: Shelley Adina
  • Narrated by: Fiona Hardingham
  • Length: 5 hrs and 41 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (1,336 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Lady of Devices: A Steampunk Adventure Novel  By  cover art

Lady of Devices: A Steampunk Adventure Novel

By: Shelley Adina
Narrated by: Fiona Hardingham
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $17.99

Buy for $17.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

London, 1889: Victoria is Queen. Charles Darwin's son is Prime Minister. And steam is the power that runs the world.

At 17, Claire Trevelyan, daughter of Viscount St. Ives, was expected to do nothing more than pour an elegant cup of tea, sew a fine seam, and catch a rich husband. Unfortunately, Claire's talents lie not in the ballroom, but in the chemistry lab, where things have a regrettable habit of blowing up. When her father gambles the estate on the combustion engine and loses, Claire finds herself down and out on the mean streets of London. But being a young woman of resources and intellect, she turns fortune on its head. It's not long before a new leader rises in the underworld, known only as the Lady of Devices...

When she meets Andrew Malvern, a member of the Royal Society of Engineers, she realizes her talents may encompass more than the invention of explosive devices. They may help her realize her dreams and his...if they can both stay alive long enough to see that sometimes the closest friendships can trigger the greatest betrayals....

©2011 Shelley Adina (P)2013 Shelley Adina

What listeners say about Lady of Devices: A Steampunk Adventure Novel

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    618
  • 4 Stars
    429
  • 3 Stars
    201
  • 2 Stars
    55
  • 1 Stars
    33
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    724
  • 4 Stars
    338
  • 3 Stars
    106
  • 2 Stars
    23
  • 1 Stars
    17
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    546
  • 4 Stars
    377
  • 3 Stars
    204
  • 2 Stars
    60
  • 1 Stars
    26

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Steam Punk fan or not - This is a Gem

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I would love to know my friends can have hours of enjoyment listening to this trip into Victorian fantasy.

What other book might you compare Lady of Devices: A Steampunk Adventure Novel to and why?

Fans of Amanda Quick, Julia Quinn or Betina Krahn will love this genre of spunky heroine verses every obstacle of English society. Listening to the books read in an English accent made the experience all the more realistic.

Which scene was your favorite?

I particularly enjoyed those scenes where she battles with ingrained strictures of her society and rises to individuality.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I did!

Any additional comments?

The reader was superb so that I bought the next two books before I finished the first. Thanks, Audible, for offering the "Hidden Gems" sale. I may not have tried this series otherwise without your recommendation.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars