Regular price: $32.20

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the vein of The Boy in the Striped Pajamas and Number the Stars, this fusion of fairy tales, folklore, and World War II history eloquently illustrates the power of love and the inherent will to survive even in the darkest of times.

In the land of dolls, there is magic.

In the land of humans, there is war.

Everywhere there is pain.

But together there is hope.

Karolina is a living doll whose king and queen have been overthrown. But when a strange wind spirits her away from the Land of the Dolls, she finds herself in Kraków, Poland, in the company of the Dollmaker, a man with an unusual power and a marked past.

The Dollmaker has learned to keep to himself, but Karolina's courageous and compassionate manner leads him to smile and to even befriend a violin-playing father and his daughter - that is, once the Dollmaker gets over the shock of realizing a doll is speaking to him.

But their newfound happiness is dashed when Nazi soldiers descend upon Poland. Karolina and the Dollmaker quickly realize that their Jewish friends are in grave danger, and they are determined to help save them, no matter what the risks.

©2017 R. M. Romero (P)2017 Listening Library

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

ETA HOFFMANN ATMOSPHERE

If a book is interesting, I’m not paying attention to the narration. I think that narrators are always people who try to do all their best to keep us reading or listening, so I won’t rate their work, only beg to say that the actors seemed to be simulating polish accent. As For Eric Brandt, It sometimes was difficult to recognize what the character said.(I could hardly understand his accent, maybe it was German, I don’t know). Woman who voiced Karolina is the best!
As for the story itself, it was the most unusual story I have ever read about the Holocaust and about the war generally. I really thought I was reading a Hoffmann’s story, so magic it was. I’m 23, It’s hardly right saying that I’m a child, but still I’m thankful to the author for the opportunity to read this book. I’m thankful to her for the impressive character of the dollmaker, for the cute Karolina, for such beautiful reminder of the Holocaust, and for I felt like I’m a child again. Thanks to all of the people who made the book.