We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Circus Mirandus Audiobook

Circus Mirandus

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Big Fish, Peter Pan, and Roald Dahl will fall in love with Circus Mirandus, which celebrates the power of seeing magic in the world.

Do you believe in magic?

Micah Tuttle does.

Even though his awful great-aunt Gertrudis doesn't approve, Micah believes in the stories his dying grandpa Ephraim tells him of the magical Circus Mirandus: the invisible tiger guarding the gates, the beautiful flying birdwoman, and the magician more powerful than any other - the Man Who Bends Light. Finally Grandpa Ephraim offers proof. The circus is real. And the lightbender owes Ephraim a miracle. With his friend Jenny Mendoza in tow, Micah sets out to find the circus and the man he believes will save his grandfather.

The only problem is the lightbender doesn't want to keep his promise. And now it's up to Micah to get the miracle he came for.

©2015 Cassie Beasley (P)2015 Listening Library

What the Critics Say

"Bronson Pinchot performs with the wise air of a storyteller, an appropriate style for a novel built on the tales that Micah's Grandpa Ephraim tells about the magical circus he visited as a boy.... A solid fantasy particularly good for family listening." (AudioFile)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (171 )
5 star
 (102)
4 star
 (54)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.4 (147 )
5 star
 (81)
4 star
 (48)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (5)
Story
4.5 (148 )
5 star
 (103)
4 star
 (31)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Sara Findlay, Ohio United States 02-08-16
    Sara Findlay, Ohio United States 02-08-16 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    89
    31
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This book was okay."
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    The narrator was a little whinny at times. I also just wasn't that into the story line. I kept wanting more, more character development, more of a streaming story line, more fun and adventure.


    Did Circus Mirandus inspire you to do anything?

    No. I ilked the Night Circus so much better. That was an inspiring book.


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dave Whittier, CA 08-06-15
    Dave Whittier, CA 08-06-15 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    956
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    263
    115
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    91
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "You Still Owe Me a Miracle"

    This is a story that should please children of all ages -- including those (older) among us who loved Ray Bradbury. In some ways, Beasley's circus is the opposite of Pandemonium: it aims to bring miracles and joy to children. As opposed to Mr. Darque, Circus Mirandus' main attraction is The Man Who Bends Light, or the Lightbender. The story itself centers on family and friendship, and carries a weight of emotion that is punctuated by Pinchot's incredible reading.

    The story centers around Micah and his grandfather, and the ties that knot them together -- their belief in Circus Mirandus. Grandpa Ephraim went to Circus Mirandus as a young boy, and it changed his life. Now, Micah is hoping to find Circus Mirandus and the Lightbender again, in hopes of saving his Grandpa's life.

    I'm a little uncomfortable with one of the themes in the story being that only children can see and accept magic, and that performing it for them is what keeps magic in the world. It seems disingenuous and hopeless, since all children grow up. (And presuming, of course, that the adults running Circus Mirandus were once children themselves.)

    But despite not buying some of the sentimentality, I can still get behind the charm of this story, and am excited to share it with my kids. It's a very fun and enjoyable book with an excellent narration, and its magic will leave both children and adults smiling.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Virginia G. Pratt 07-17-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    41
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    63
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This book IS magic!"

    Circus Mirandus touches on all the myriad feelings a reader can feel-- amusement, warmth, regret, indignation, gratitude, love, and mostly hope. This beautiful story of the meaning of magic and its power in our lives is one that captivates. Readers will love Micah, Grandpa Ephraim, and The Man Who Bends Light, and the experience will be even further enhanced by Pinchot's masterful narration.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Monique 07-09-15
    Monique 07-09-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome book !!!!!!"

    I really like this book great for the imaginative child . I love that they read it so clear . I disliked that the reader read a little slower than normal

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Olivia 02-15-17
    Olivia 02-15-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "You never need an invitation to go home!"

    I LOVED it!!!!!
    It is now my favorite book, I hope more of Cassie Beasley's books are like it! I love the last sentence, "you never need an invitation to go home". My favorite character was Jenny because I can really relate to her I had a best friend leave me to go really far away, he is still there I miss him. I loved Circus Mirandus, it is my favorite book ever in my entire life.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ray 01-19-17
    Ray 01-19-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Almost Didn't Finish"

    Almost gave up on this book. The story really didn't take off until I was about half way through.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Benjamin B Young 01-01-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Needs better women characters"
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    Better characters where women aren't evil, rigid, or boring.


    If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Circus Mirandus?

    The first half.


    Any additional comments?

    Took too long, the story is fairly uneventful so it could have moved more quickly.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lauren Williams 12-10-16 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    114
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Emotional Journey"

    This book took me on an emotional Journey that I haven't experienced in a long time while reading/listening.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 10-12-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "amazing"

    love it was great. I am word less. I don't know what to say about it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carson Biederman 07-02-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved the story"

    My children wished the ending were longer and explained more of what happened to the main character.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.