• Just Last Night

  • A Novel
  • By: Mhairi McFarlane
  • Narrated by: Maya Saroya
  • Length: 10 hrs and 46 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (1,058 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.93

Buy for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"I cannot remember the last book I loved as much... a luminous, heart-achingly beautiful love letter to friendship. Knockout!" (Josie Silver, New York Times best-selling author)

International best-seller Mhairi McFarlane explores lifelong friendships, long-buried secrets, and unexpected love in a heartfelt, emotional new novel, perfect for fans of Evvie Drake Starts Over, The Two Lives of Lydia Bird, or In Five Years.

Eve, Justin, Susie, and Ed have been friends since they were teenagers. Now in their thirties, the four are as close as ever, Thursday night bar trivia is sacred, and Eve is still secretly in love with Ed. Maybe she should have moved on by now, but she can’t stop thinking about what could have been. And she knows Ed still thinks about it, too. 

But then, in an instant, their lives are changed forever.

In the aftermath, Eve’s world is upended. As stunning secrets are revealed, she begins to wonder if she really knew her friends as well as she thought. And when someone from the past comes back into her life, Eve’s future veers in a surprising new direction....

They say every love story starts with a single moment. What if it was just last night?

"[A] book I almost wish I’d written, except that would have robbed me of the intense joy of reading it... the kind of novel that will have you putting everything else on hold so you can keep turning pages until you reach its sparkling, brilliant end.” (Emily Henry, number-one New York Times best-selling author of People We Meet on Vacation)

©2021 Mhairi McFarlane (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Just Last Night

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    774
  • 4 Stars
    200
  • 3 Stars
    64
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    795
  • 4 Stars
    142
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    693
  • 4 Stars
    195
  • 3 Stars
    58
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just Perfect.

I started listening to this book as a distraction while mowing the lawn. Around 10:30 I adjusted the speed to 1.75x so I could finish it before falling asleep. When I awoke, I re-listened to my favorite scenes about a million times at regular speeds. I've been allergic to great literature and articles this year, not having the emotional or intellectual fortitude such books require and only reading what is easy and gratifying as escapism. I was not prepared for all that this book made me feel. More beautiful and romantic for it's honesty about the cost and bravery that is required to grow oneself--to claim one's responsibility and power in becoming and to heal from painful experience by acting on its lessons. That's not to say it doesn't end with a tidy HEA. It still gave me the satisfying resolution I needed without the residual anxiety and disappointment in characters and situations that the more complex and evocative literature tends to leave me to wrestle with. Just what I needed. Highly recommended. I think this is her best yet.

26 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So good im speechless....loved it!!!

The story builds in such a intricate way. The characters are described so well. I felt as if they were people I went to school with. There were two or three significant happenings with the plot. I thought I knew what was going to happen.. then circumstances and characters changed. I enjoyed the book. I worried, laughed out loud, teared up and cheered when snarky people got what they deserved. I am new to this author. I have read and listened to three of her books in the last month! Best read in one day.. I was hiking during the first 15 chapters and sat listening to the rest while nestled in bed on a rainy day. The book leaves me pondering my friendships and the impact on my life.
K. Shumpert
Small town, MI
Former expat

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loss, Grief and Love done well

I found this to be a very moving, touching, interesting, amusing, heartbreaking and heart-filling story. Being a grief counselor, I feel I could pull passages directly from this to share with others, as the writer pegged so much of the complexity of grief and healing. For that alone, as it is fairly rare for a book of this genre to express it so clearly, I give it 5 stars. Some grieving people may feel the healing was too fast for real life, but I simply imagine that the healing continues after the story ends. Loss, grief and healing take time, honesty, struggle, compassion and support. This book has all of this. Loved the narrator too!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not what I expected! This is not an upbeat book.

Spoiler alert! I wish that we didn’t spend as much time with our main character before she got involved with Finley and then to rush the ending. I also felt that we should have come to terms with our brooding romance of 18 years a lot sooner! Plus you didn’t need multiple chapters repeating how your life was going to change now that your friend who died. We got it. I really wanted to find out more about Finley and their relationship.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Bittersweet

The opening scene - which is repeated near the end - was quite difficult for me to hear. So much of this book too accurately portrays what it’s like when someone leaves an infills le joke in your life. I’ve had someone like that, and my heart broke for Eve. The story is well-told, if slightly predictable, with lessons about not letting others manipulate you, about being the boss of your own life. This was a good, if bittersweet, read.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

It was an ok story

I finally got through it.. kind of slow moving and too much detail to get to where it was going..
I enjoyed the narrators voice and accent and fun words for things though

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

slow start

it took me some time to get into the story. initially, I thought about not finishing it. once I was emotionally invested I couldn't stop

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I was considering returning the book at the beginning, concerned about the main character's self-destructive behavior. I'm so glad I hung in just a bit longer. Truly a lovely book!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Kept surprising with the good stuff

Starts off well and then just keeps getting better. Didn’t go where I expected it to. The action and thoughtfulness keeps you hooked.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A binge read

I couldn't put this book down. I listened to it every second I could get!