adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“A roller-coaster ride of a plot with all manner of twists and turns.” (Midwest Book Review)

Joni Weir kissed her husband good-bye just that morning, but she never figured it would be the last time she’d see him alive. When the news hits that Officer Barry Weir was shot and killed in the line of duty, Detective Madison Knight and every cop in Stiles is itching for revenge. With evidence pointing to a drive-by shooting, the investigation takes Madison into the seedy underbelly of the city in the search for justice. But as she digs, the evidence only becomes more puzzling.

With emotions running high, Madison’s relationships are tested to their breaking point. Troy Matthews, her boyfriend and colleague, also Weir’s childhood friend, is cut deeply, and his grief drives a wedge between them. But she’s not going to let her own pain stop her from getting to the truth. Madison will push through - for Troy, but also for Weir’s wife and three young daughters - and figure out if Weir was murdered as part of a gang initiation, a straight-up hate crime, or a targeted kill. But with members of the Stiles PD possibly under attack, she has to do it fast. Before more officers pay with their lives. 

A brilliant action-packed mystery with heart-stopping twists. Perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, J.D. Robb, and Lisa Regan.

©2016 Hibbert & Stiles Publishing Inc. (P)2017 Hibbert & Stiles Publishing Inc.

Critic Reviews

"A simply riveting read from cover to cover, In the Line of Duty clearly reveals author Carolyn Arnold to be a master of the genre with an exceptional flair for creating truly memorable characters and a roller-coaster ride of a plot with all manner of twists and turns...Very highly recommended." (Midwest Book Review)

What listeners say about In the Line of Duty

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great police procedural

The twists and turns keep you in the story and you can't wait to get to the end. I hope more of this series are offered as audio books. I was given this book by Audiobooks Unleashed. I am going to buy one of the Brandon Fisher series next and see if it is as good.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story of a Dictictive

If you enjoy reading detective novels you will enjoy this book. the personal life of the detective is slow but the rest of the story is worth it.