Your audiobook is waiting…

In Time for Revenge

A Sci-Fi Murder Mystery
Narrated by: Ben Jaeger-Thomas
Length: 13 hrs and 48 mins
4 out of 5 stars (50 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A SCI-FI MYSTERY FROM MILLION-COPY BEST SELLER JASPER T. SCOTT 

He invented a machine to take people to the future
Then he was accused of murder, but he can't remember killing anyone. 

Billionaire genius Byron Gaines is accused of murdering his wife and her lover, but he swears he didn't do it. This couldn't have come at a worse moment: He is so close to a breakthrough in his research. He's about to invent a device that will change the world forever. The irony is, if only he had a little more time, he'd be able to make his legal problems disappear - along with himself.  

Travel to the near future with unforgettable characters and evocative depictions of imminent technologies. See how society could evolve in both utopian and dystopian ways. Twists abound in this unpredictable listen. A perfect novel for fans of Michael Crichton, Blake Crouch, Matthew Mather, and AG Riddle.

©2019 Jasper T. Scott (P)2019 Audible, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Believable time travel!

I generally avoid books involving time travel but I’m a big Jasper Scott fan so I decided to give it a read I was not disappointed! This is the only approach to time travel that makes sense and it was masterfully done!

In Time For Revenge is completely different from any of JTS other best selling work no aliens or space battles but lots of action in a story full of twists and surprises.

As with all JTS books the characters are well developed, I think I would recognize them if they knocked on the door. They are easy to love or loth as the case may be and they are believable warts and all. The scenes are vivid and easy to slip into. Mystery, action surprises and a tasteful amount of romance. A must read!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Lc
  • 11-16-19

Predictable, forced drama

Had the kind of drama I despise: people making decisions no rational person would make in order to place the character in a high-drama situation that makes the writing easier.

How about writing smart characters that do smart things?

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Great concepts ruined by author's beliefs

THIS REVIEW CONTAINS MAJOR SPOILERS

While many of the concepts are interesting, very early on I got the inkling that the author was writing an atheist they way he thought atheists "surely must be" but really aren't. This was confirmed at several points throughout. About 10-15% into this book it was clear that the protagonist was meant to be selfish, irrational and unlikable - all the while espousing the values of reason and logic. This combination is a common anti-atheism caricature. I then predicted that before the book was over he would question his atheism and become religious in some capacity, and that the villains of the book would somehow be labeled as anti-religious or be responsible for targeting religious people in some way - which is a common fantasy of the religious right (see: the non-existent "War on Christmas" and the popular and imaginary "Christians are persecuted in America" trope). That was the tone Mr Scott was setting early on - so at least he's consistent.

About halfway through, when we find out who the actual villain is, he was written as a completely two dimensional psycho driven by selfishness (much like the protagonist) whose alter-ego espoused anti-religion extremism. The villain was essentially written as a stereotypical psychopath with no redeeming qualities - and worse, his reasoning for everything was essentially the same caricature of those of us who value reason and logic so often hear from right wing nuts and religious zealots. At that point I was certain I was right, and almost stopped listening, but I stuck with it because I wanted to know for sure. Could it be that a best selling sci-fi author was actually a religious conservative trying to push a pro-religion/anti-science agenda?

Unfortunately it appears so.
In the end, the protagonist experiences a supernatural event which helps him save the persecuted religious people and topples the anti-religion zealot alter-ego of the main villain - and then presumably because the author just needed to demonstrate one more time how selfish the protagonist is, he risks everything to find out how he could have received the supernatural help he did, only to find out it's "the afterlife" where everyone who has ever lived is still alive and conscious, but he gets to go back to life to be with his girlfriend and her daughter. So after having left them behind in his selfish quest, he returns to immediately pop the question to the person he was willing to leave for his quest for knowledge. Like immediately. While she's holding him and crying, because she thought he was dead. How self centered does one character have to be? Or does Mr Scott believe that to be a great moment of awakening for the protagonist? Is that supposed to mean he finally became selfless and generous like the other believers? Bah humbug.

Moral of the story:
Atheists are selfish and greedy while the religious are generous and selfless.
Religion is true while atheism and the quest for knowledge is wrong and immoral.

I can't really fault the narrator. He did a decent job. But I will not be giving Mr Scott any more of my money.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

what a ride time machines to Angels and demons

sorta of love it lots of solid science, murder and revenge, hard time in the big house, realistic how the future may look, the time machine theme interwoven with it all and a super bad guy anti-christ, with a visit to heaven for a climax. A great listen by a master story writer.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome!

I really loved this one. It was partly time travel scifi and partly a whodunit murder mystery. Regardless it was highly entertaining and hard to stop once I started. Narrator did a wonderful job as well!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good Time Travel Mystery

A time travel mystery with well developed characters, a good storyline, and excellent narration. The story has lots of action, plenty of twists, mystery, and some romance. A quite scary tale, but shows a realistic future. The audio was very enjoyable and highly recommended.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, great narrator.

I think this is Jasper's best standalone book. The plot moves right along and there was no dead space. He easily can throw unknown technology at you and explain it in such a way it feels perfectly natural. The narrator is great. I listened at 1.7x in my car, and I never got lost or bored.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Time travel vs murder mystery

I wanted to read this book because I am a great fan of time travel books. Byron invents time compression and plans a business selling trips to the future to rich clients. The story is a roller coaster of events. The future that is portrayed is quite scary but believable.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant narration!!

I got done reading the book and I decided to try the audio sample. The sample was great so I added it as well and gave the book a listen, I was not disappointed. Brilliant narration by Ben Jaeger Thomas, he brought Jasper T. Scott's book to life with vivid detail. Character dialog was excellent as well including Buddy...Loved him!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

a descent sifi mystery

was different than what I am use to reading but overall a good read