1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
How Lulu Lost Her Mind  By  cover art

How Lulu Lost Her Mind

By: Rachel Gibson
Narrated by: Stephanie Einstein
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $15.49

Buy for $15.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the New York Times best-selling author of The Art of Running in Heels comes “a compassionate, poignant, often humorous story of the complicated relationship between a mother and daughter” (Mariah Stewart, New York Times best-selling author) as they attempt to rediscover the past before it disappears forever.

Lou Ann Hunter’s mother has always had a passionate nature, which explains why she’s been married five times and spooned enough male patients to be ousted from three elderly care facilities. She also has Alzheimer’s, which is why she wants to spend the rest of her life surrounded by childhood memories at Sutton Hall, her family’s decrepit plantation home in Louisiana. 

Lou Ann, a.k.a. Lulu the Love Guru, has built an empire preaching sex, love, and relationship advice to the women of America - mostly by defying the example her mother has set for her. But with her mom suddenly in need of a full-time caretaker, Lou Ann reluctantly agrees to step out of the spotlight and indulge her mother’s wishes. Upon her arrival at Sutton Hall, Lou Ann discovers that very little functions as it should - least of all her mother’s mind. And as she adjusts to this new and inevitably temporary dynamic with the help of a local handyman and a live-in nurse, she is forced to confront the reality that neither her nor her mother’s future is going according to plan. 

“Fans of Sophie Kinsella and Jane Graves will love Rachel Gibson’s How Lulu Lost Her Mind, an endearing, funny, and heart-tugging story from the first page to the last” (Karen Hawkins, New York Times best-selling author). 

©2020 Rachel Gibson (P)2020 Simon & Schuster Audio

What listeners say about How Lulu Lost Her Mind

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    184
  • 4 Stars
    109
  • 3 Stars
    66
  • 2 Stars
    26
  • 1 Stars
    9
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    193
  • 4 Stars
    94
  • 3 Stars
    44
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    166
  • 4 Stars
    99
  • 3 Stars
    53
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    11

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

What Happened To The Romance?!!!

How Lulu Lost Her Mind was NOT a romance novel. This was more of a women’s fictional novel about Lou Ann Hunter who, temporarily, gives up her career as a motivational speaker to care for her mother who has Alzheimer’s. Then, you have Simon the contractor, who’s working on Ms. Pattie’s childhood home. This is the couple of the book but, there was barely any flirting or any kind of heat and sizzle between the two of them. Lou Ann and Simon acted more like friends than two people who are suppose to be attracted to each other. By the time the author got around to including the romantic aspect, it didn’t seem genuine. It felt forced. They didn’t have their first kiss until chapter 19 and, if you blinked, you missed it. There wasn’t even any tongue! And, there was no sex! WTH?!!! I just wasn’t getting romantic vibes from Lou Ann and Simon. Because there was no real romance, I found it difficult to actually get into the book or connect with the characters. This was my first book narrated by Stephanie Einstein and I wasn’t overly impressed. She did an okay job but, her Southern accent was horrible. She didn’t even try to voice Simon with a Louisianan accent. How Lulu Lost Her Mind was not Rachel Gibson’s best work. It’s disappointing because, I love her books. I’ve been reading Rachel Gibson since I was in high school. But, if this is the direction she’s going with her writing, I’ma have to stop reading her books.

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love this book!!!

such a great book. I work in the nursing field with Alzheimer's and dementia patients....and i love them as if they were my own family!!!

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not what I expected

This isn’t your usual romance novel but I loved the story and was brought to tears T least twice during the book. It was well written and lovely. My only complaint is the Cajun accent but it’s a hard one to do so I’m still giving 4 stars.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Funny entertaining and real

I loved how the author captured the Joy's and heartaches of caring for someone living with dementia in a humourous way. excellent book!

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Entertaining!

I love the relationship that lulu and her Mom are lucky enough to enjoy for the time while it lasted . Her mom’s antics made me smile and laugh!

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Bad southern accent

The narrators southern accent wasn’t good. It wasn’t the best Rachel Gibson book but I still enjoyed it. She is one of my favorite authors.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect

Each novel gets better for Rachel Gibson. She is one of my favorites! Perfectly narrated also.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Meh.

This book calls the engraving on a headstone an epithet and the audiobook pronounces cannula “kuh-NOOLA. It’s jarring and throws me out of the story. I don’t know how that happens for a NY Times Bestselling author besides to wonder if this one isn’t quite good enough for competent editing and proofing? The story is good, the characters are engaging but the 1st person narrator’s internal dialogue came across as whiny, trite and unnecessarily long. Would have been more poignant without her telling us every single thing she felt. She described events with her opinions then went on and explicitly said what emotion accompanied it. The stating of the emotions was unnecessary and weighed down the authenticity of the story, at least for me.

That said, I did laugh out loud several times and the story is worth reading if you have time.

(In case you don’t know—it’s epitaph, not epithet (which means an insult), and cannula is pronounced “KAN-yuh-luh”).

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great little story

Before buying this, I read a review in which someone seemed put out that this was not a romance novel. I seldom like romance novels and, in fact, diligently avoid them. So reviews indicated this was well written, funny, and not a romance. I snapped it up and was not disappointed. I will have to disagree on the romance, though. While there is no bodice-ripping or long, indepth passages describing sex, there are two romances. These romances proceed in a manner appropriate for the characters.

The book is very much a beach read - not gonna tax the brain or emotions. It is funny, charming, sad, and interesting by turn and well worth a read when you need some light reading. I will not be surprised to see this one made into a movie.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Great foe insomnia

Set your timer for 30 minute intervals and you will get several nights help to fall asleep.

1 person found this helpful