• Hijack in Abstract

  • A Cherry Tucker Mystery, Book 3
  • By: Larissa Reinhart
  • Narrated by: Joan Dukore
  • Length: 9 hrs and 39 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (7 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Cherry Tucker's in for a truckload of trouble!

For fans of Janet Evanovich and Jana Deleon, from The Wall Street Journal best-selling and international award-winning author, Larissa Reinhart, the third book in the sassy, Southern, amateur sleuthing Cherry Tucker cozy mystery series. Read by the "fantastically funny" voice actress Joan Dukore. 

With a classical series sold and a portrait commissioned, Cherry Tucker's art career is in Georgia overdrive. But when the sheriff asks Cherry to draw a composite sketch of a hijacker, her life takes a hairpin as the composite leads to a related murder, her local card-sharking buddy Max Avtaikin becomes bear bait and her nemesis labels the classical series "pervert art". 

Cherry's jamming gears between trailer parks, Atlanta mansions, and trucker bars searching for the hijacker who left a widow and orphan destitute. While she seeks to help the misfortunate and save her local reputation, Cherry's hammer-down attitude has her facing the headlights of an oncoming killer.

Download to listen to the third in the Cherry Tucker Mystery series and escape into a lighthearted, small-town cozy series that's "as Southern as chess pie and every bit as delectable".

©2018 Larissa Reinhart (P)2022 Larissa Reinhart

Critic Reviews

A 2014 Georgia Author of the Year and Silver Falchion nominee and a Night Owl Reviews Top Pick

What listeners say about Hijack in Abstract

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cherry's up to no good!

What a great little mystery! It was clean, funny and very entertaining! I highly recommend listening or reading this delightful story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read!

This is a great mystery with lots of twists and turns. The cast of characters are great and the storyline is entertaining. Can wait to see what happens with Cheri next!
I received a free copy and left my honest review

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great cozy mystery with likable characters !

I enjoy the Cherry Tucker cozy mystery by Larissa Reinhart. The characters are likable and often humorous. The mystery is interesting and kept me guessing. Cherry Tucker is an artist living in Halo, Georgia. Her sister, brother and ex-husband have all moved in with her. She sold some artwork but needs another sale. The sheriff asks her to draw a sketch of a hijacker and things spiral out of control. Cherry winds up in the middle of a murder investigation. Her nemesis Shawna is spreading rumors. Her ex-boyfriend Detective Luke Harper is volunteering to help her plus to keep an eye on her. She is helping a family who is having a difficult time. It is all keeping her very busy! I received an audiobook from the author for an honest review. The audiobook is narrated by Joan Dukore who also does the Maizie Albright series. It took me a couple of chapters to switch gears but the characters are different enough and the book is interesting from the beginning so it was an easy transition. Joan Dukore is marvelous and makes the characters come to life. Very enjoyable! #HijackInAbstract #Larissa Reinhart

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cherry Tucker is back!

I listened to the first two Cherry Tucker books several years ago and loved them. I have been waiting years for additional books to be released in audio, so I was so excited to listen to Hijack in Abstract!

Cherry is a sassy southern artist that finds herself in the middle of a hijacking ring after she is asked to draw a composite sketch of the suspect. When the crime escalates, Cherry’s stubbornness and heart of gold lead her on an adventure of chaos that includes a bar fight and a shoot out. Meanwhile, her nemesis is trying to ruin her career. Add in Luke, Todd, an over-crowded house, and a hilarious cast of quirky characters and you have a non-stop ride full twists and turns. I can’t wait to hear what happens next!

Joan Dukore captures the humor in the author’s writing and brings the story to life.

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Entertaining cozy mystery

Cherry Tucker’s art career is on the rise. Although book three in the series it can easily be listened to as a stand alone. Requested to do a sketch by the sheriff of Halo, Georgia of a suspected hijacker, it quickly tumbles in to danger when her sketch of the suspect is linked to a murder.

Cherry now has to solve the case of hand in taking on this investigation she will put everything she loves and holds dear to her at risk, including the job she has fought so hard to be successful at.

The characters are quirky and the situations she finds herself in make for some amusing moments. There were numerous twists and turns in and I admit I was caught off guard on a couple of occasions. The suspense built throughout and the addition of some junior sleuths added to the witty banter that was throughout the story.

Will Cherry be able to solve the case? The narrator Joan Dukore really brought this story to life for me. Her voice was easy to listen to and I thought she did justice to the story and the characters.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julie
  • Julie
  • 04-06-22

Nothing abstract about this mystery

I loved this book. This author sure knows how to entertain her listeners and with so much going on, you hardly get to take a breath before something else happens. The mystery was good and had a number of twists, as well as sub plots but it is the characters that I just love. They are whacky, colourful and definitely unique all of which leads to some funny situations. Cherry is a great main character and despite her big caring heart and stubborn streak leading her in to trouble, you wouldn't want her to change. She is even friendly with her ex husband when she is talking to him and who has moved in with her, along with her sister and brother. Throw in a policeman who happens to be her ex, a nemesis with mean streak, a bullying goat and Cherry's life is anything but simple. The drama just adds to the fun and a good reason of why the book (and series) gets so many five star reviews. Can't wait for the next book.
Cherry gets called into the police station in the middle of the night but not because she has done something wrong for a change. Her Uncle, the sheriff, needs a suspect drawn. A man was murdered during a hijacking and one man witnessed it all. With Cherry's help the sheriff hopes to identify the suspect with a drawing but the truck drivers are reluctant to talk to the police and when a tragedy happens Cherry feels responsible. Can she help the dead man's family by finding his killer? At the same time her her Classical portraits of her nude ex husband get sold and her nemesis is using blown up parts of the paintings to drag her name through the mud with the good church folks in town. Can she put a stop to her vendetta once and for all? Or does she have two targets on her back? one of which could get her killed.
I liked the narrator. She has a carefree bubbly voice which is just perfect for the characters in this books.
I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.