Heir of Iron Hearts

Iron Crown Faerie Tales, Book 2
Narrated by: Nikki Delgado
Series: Iron Crown Faerie Tales, Book 2
Length: 5 hrs and 41 mins
Categories: Teens, Sci-Fi & Fantasy
4.5 out of 5 stars (10 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Best-selling faerie series perfect for fans of Holly Black and Cassandra Clare. 

Only weeks after Ivy's return to her true home in the Winter Court, she finds herself thrown into life as a royal with a hectic schedule she hates and an Unseelie fiance she can't stand. Even worse, the one person she is forbidden to love, Barrett Forbes, is her personal guard, which makes getting to know Prince Ardan awkward and uncomfortable. 

Ivy's life spirals into more chaos when she discovers her human best friend, Jules, has journeyed to Faerie to find her and is now being used as a pawn against her. Together, Ivy and Jules must trust each other, carefully choosing every move in a dark game that would pit them against each other. 

Meanwhile, the Winter Queen's sister has escaped from her cell in the castle's dungeons to form a dangerous alliance that could destroy the Winter Realm and all Ivy holds dear. 

Filled with friendship, love, and lies, this exciting sequel to The Thorn Princess will keep you listening long into the night.

©2019 Bekah Harri (P)2019 Bekah Harris

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Aleana

Right up there with the first! Loved it! Lots of twist and turns! Aleana finds her true identity! Can't wait for next one!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just Spectacular

Heir of Iron Hearts was amazing Bekah Harris is a great writer and her stories just pop. Nikki Delgado is a perfect narrator for these books cant wait to listen to the next book

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Changeling

Fun, entertaining quick reads in this series. I like the prose and narration choice. The storyline is predictable but still pleasing😊

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I really enjoyed it!

I loved the world-building and the snowy winter theme! It is especially great to be read in winter as it get you in the mood! Liked that the characters were conflicted before acting! Well paced, well written with the right amount of drama and romance I definitely recommend this book!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good continuation

This was a good continuation of the story. It takes place right where the firstborn one left off and ivy has a lot to figure out. I loved her human friend and I’m curious to see how she’s going going to change things. The Fae politics is very interesting and of course Ivy’s aunt has to cause problems. Ivy hasn’t to figure out who and what she’s willing to sacrifice and who she can trust. I was glad we got to see different sides of the characters and understand more about them. I am very curious for the next one since this one left off on a cliffhangerish. Ivy needs to learn how to play these games and win at them before it is all too late.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

So good

I really enjoyed this book it was fun and entertaining had a interesting story

I received this audiobook free in exchange for an honest review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

More wonder and whim in the world of Winter...and beyond!

The continuing adventures of Ivy Hawthorne—the newly-crowned Thorn Princess—continue in this second entry to the Iron Crown Faerie Tales.

Bekah Harris’s prose sings as she weaves even more threads into this rich tale of magic, betrayal, and fantastical intrigue.

Nikki Delgado’s voice is back for another audiobook adventure in Harris’s Faerie, and her smooth, sultry tones will carry you off through portals, to faraway realms you’ve only ever dreamed of.

A fantastic follow-up that has me craving more from this wonderfully realized world!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A must read!

Ok, i absolutely adored book one, so I had high hopes for this one and was just praying it would be as fabulous...and it was! The writing is done beautifully, and the author has such an amazing grasp on how to give enough details to make everything vivid, without over describing everything! The flow and pace of the story is magical, and keeps you wanting more. The characters continue to develop and grow. Without giving too much away, I enjoyed watching the relationships form, and try to be formed in this one. I also loved watching Ivy as she discovers what it means to truly be a queen. I also enjoyed the politics in this book and all that goes along with it! I was generously given this book, but chose to review it on my own!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Matipufu
  • Matipufu
  • 01-18-20

good book

I enjoyed this. interesting story and characters. I will go through the rest of them also

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for NAT.orious reads
  • NAT.orious reads
  • 01-15-20

3.75 iron-like STARS ★★★✬✩

This book is for you even if… you didn't really love the prequel. Won't have to convince those who did.

⤐ Overall.
I love it when a sequel is better than the prequel, as was the case here. Lately, I experienced just the opposite a lot and that really sucks. Aspects such as the plot, pace and characters definitely experienced an improvement in Heir of Iron Hearts. In addition, the teenage angst is continued, and that's what gets our ovens hot, amiright?
It wasn't perfect but I didn't expect it to be. It was enjoyable, sometimes funny and shocking, which is all I can ask for in a YA book. I couldn’t really say there was something I disliked particularly. I do however expect the series to keep on picking up, so the next one hopefully blows me away. I'm excited to continue the journey through the faerie realm.

Characters. Well, there are some interesting fellas we come across in this book, I can tell ya. My favourite is the misunderstood bad boy that does terrible things although we all know he's are better than that although I'd do my best to keep guys like him at arms-length in real life. As I said many times over, we want soft bois, they are just way more swoony.
We also have some purely evil folks.+ and then there's the ones between a rock and a hard place, which makes for an interesting mix. I could never really tell who's sympathies lie with whom. Furthermore, a lot of development is to be witnessed. It's always something I enjoy in a good book.

World(-building). Introducing the other courts and their motivations helped me to settle in the kingdom-y atmosphere of the book. Because the prequel took place in the human world as well, I had trouble adjusting to some of the topics and themes that were introduced. Luckily, with Heir of Iron Hearts, I fully arrived in this snowy, icy place of wonder.


The arch of suspense was mainly fueled by the many opposing characters and motivations. The way Ivy is torn between her duties as a princess and the things her heart tells her puts increasing pressure on her throughout the plot, which thus keeps picking up steadily.

⤐ What’s happening.
‘At the darkest time of year, Lord Yule laid down his beard of snow and cloak of frost and ice to illuminate the gloom.’

And gloomy it is indeed, Ivy's new home. While the white snow and the euphoria of the winter court radiate light, it is somewhat overfogged by the returning presence of Prince Arden, her future husband and part-time-trouble maker. The resulting gloom is almost blinding Ivy. How far will Prince Arde go to prove his deviant streak? And how far will Ivy go until her heart can't defy the love she has for Bear anymore?
Con:
⇢ future hubby is a slimy philanderer
⇢ bear always near, yet so far away
⇢ winter court still under threat
Pro:
⇢ best friend as companion
⇢ when there are enemies, there are also allies
⇢ slimy philanderer does have some morals

_____________________
writing quality + easy of reading = 3.5*

pace = 4*

plot/story in general = 4*

plot development = 4*

characters = 4*

enjoyability = 4*

insightfulness = 3*

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S. Cole
  • S. Cole
  • 01-14-20

Heir of Iron Hearts

This is a great book. Book two picks up when Ivy and Barrett arrive in the Winter Court. Ivy has just found out that she is a faerie Princess. She also found out that she was betrothed to Arden one of the Unseelie Princes. Ivy and the Winter Queen have to try and stop all the wrong doings that have occurred to their land. The end of the book is where she has to start on her next journey before time runs out. Can't wait to see what happens in the next book.