adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.09

Buy for $30.09

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The author of In an Instant delivers a heart-pounding and emotional roller-coaster ride of self-discovery in the tradition of Thelma and Louise.

Needing to escape her abusive marriage, Hadley flees with her two kids, knowing it might be her only chance. A woman who can’t even kill a spider, Hadley soon finds herself pushed to the limits as she fights to protect her family. 

Grace, new mother of baby Miles, desperately wants to put her rough past behind her for good, but she finds it impossible when her path crosses with Hadley’s, and her quest for a new start quickly spirals out of control and turns into a terrifying flight for survival. 

Stronger together than apart, the two find their fates inextricably entwined, and as the danger closes in, each must decide how much she is willing to risk for the other. 

A powerful story of self-discovery, Hadley and Grace is the heart-racing tale of two women facing insurmountable odds, racing to stay one step ahead of the trouble that is chasing them, and discovering new kinds of love and family along the way.

©2021 Suzanne Redfearn. (P)2020 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved.

What listeners say about Hadley and Grace

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    150
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    157
  • 4 Stars
    49
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    137
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Doesn’t hold up to the reviews

The story concept is there if only the writing was up to it. Told by the first person, the character, I think would have been so much easier to follow and more interesting. I found my mind drifting with all the “she said, she said’s that were needed to get through a subplot. I was hoping for a fun escape story to take my mind off of current day issues.

The narrators were great, especially since whose voice they should speak in really didn’t make sense. If one was speaking for Grace and the other for Hadley it would have been so much easier for them to just be that character.

When written so unintelligibly it becomes boring fast. I liked the fantasy ending but it wasn’t worth the many hours I did not like. I’m pretty good at following audible stories when they capture me. I just kept giving it a chance as I’m desperate for entertainment these days that is not about some world war or concentration camps.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

too sickeningly sweet

really struggled to finish it. way too up beat and predictable for me . I found myself wishing something really tragic and suprisung would happen to make it interesting.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

An adventure that often gives the reader anxiety!

Not the kind of book I normally read but glad I did. Good characters with lots of depth. My only disappointment was in the worlds betrayal of Grace, we need to be more fair and understanding of what makes people who they are.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a 5 star story

ok. at first I was confused for a few chapters..I thought dear God not another one. but BAM! I loved it. Kept rooting for the misfit partnership of these 2 women and their kids. It wasn't easy to put down. Get the audible and enjoy it to its fullest. you won't be sorry.. bye Thelma..see ya Louise

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Predictable

Sadly predictable and ridiculous. Disappointed the author's writing was not nearly as captivating as her other book. I'd really give this book 2.5 stars so rounding up since I stuck with it to finish it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MJ
  • 04-12-21

So Real!!

I loved the characters in this book being so real. The story was so outlandish that I found it all amusing and fun loving.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Story, Just Draggy

I liked the premise of this story, the characters, etc. The problem was that at times I wanted to scream in frustration because the common sense element eluded the 2 main characters. There was also the fact that at times there were chapters that were just there as filler. If you need to add extra pages then do it by adding to the story not pounding out the same stuff over and over. The performance was mediocre at best. At times the narrator sounded like she was reading a fairy tale she was bored with.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best books I’ve read in a long time!

Loved it from the first sentence! Was hooked right away! Didn’t want it to end.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Modern Day Thelma & Louise

Not great literature, but was good bedtime read. I would try more books by this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Suzanne Redfearn holds me in her storyline again

I am so enthralled with the unusual stories by Suzanne Resfearn. In my 74 years I have to count her in my top 10 reads.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christopher Morris
  • Christopher Morris
  • 02-19-21

Not What I Expected

The story had a promising start but I found the way the events unfolded to be both a bit dull and a bit unbelievable. I didn't feel I liked any of the characters and they consistently made odd choices. I felt there was a real lack of a feeling of threat; the character of Frank could have been much more involved in the story and would have added a much needed sense of danger. Some things really didn't make sense to me - a good example in the most non -spoiler way I can manage would be that how is one of the kid's "Playstation"s able to go online? Does it have a SIM card? Is there built in Wi-Fi in the car? And why does the other person also have a separate "Playstation" with another copy of the game? And why does a baseball game have a chat feature?

On the audio side, it was superbly narrated, however the two female narrators disagreed on how the character of Grace sounds, with two widely differing approaches, which took me out of the story a little. Aside from that, all three narrators were engaging.

It wasn't a terrible story, and was mostly well-written. It just never grabbed me and I didn't really feel compelled to find out what happened next.