Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Good Eggs  By  cover art

Good Eggs

By: Rebecca Hardiman
Narrated by: Alana Kerr Collins, Gary Furlong, Siobhan Waring
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $17.99

Buy for $17.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Named a Best Feel-Good Book by The Washington Post

When a home aide arrives to assist a rambunctious family at a crossroads, simmering tensions boil over in this “witty, exuberant debut” (People) that is an “absolute delight from start to finish” (Sarah Haywood, New York Times best-selling author) perfect for fans of Where’d You Go, Bernadette and Evvie Drake Starts Over.

When Kevin Gogarty’s 83-year-old mother is caught shoplifting yet again, he has no choice but to hire a caretaker to keep an eye on her. Kevin, recently unemployed, is already at his wits’ end tending to a full house while his wife travels to exotic locales for work, leaving him solo with his sulky, misbehaved teenaged daughter. Into the Gogarty fray steps Sylvia, the upbeat home aide, who appears at first to be their saving grace - until she catapults the Gogarty clan into their greatest crisis yet.

“Bracing, hilarious, warm” (Judy Blundell, New York Times best-selling author), Good Eggs is an irresistibly charming study in self-determination, the notion that it’s never too late to start living, and the unique redemption that family, despite its maddening flaws, can offer.

©2021 Rebecca Hardiman. All rights reserved. (P)2021 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

Critic reviews

"Narrators Alana Kerr Collins, Gary Furlong, and Siobhan Waring each bring a unique range that enhances the heartfelt ties and comedic repartee of the Gogarty family. Kevin cares for a full house while his wife travels for work, so he's looking for some help. A new school for Kevin's angsty teen daughter, Aideen, and a home aide for his mother, Millie, seem like solutions but, instead, spark hilarious misadventures. Collins expresses Aideen's wrath at her family in harsh tones. Furlong is as great at portraying an exasperated father as he is at capturing sniveling children. Portraying Millie, Waring delivers a raspy timbre; when Millie attempts to fake senility, Waring switches to a girlish pitch." (AudioFile Magazine)