• Girls Can Kiss Now

  • Essays
  • By: Jill Gutowitz
  • Narrated by: Jill Gutowitz
  • Length: 7 hrs and 4 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (118 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Girls Can Kiss Now  By  cover art

Girls Can Kiss Now

By: Jill Gutowitz
Narrated by: Jill Gutowitz
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $17.00

Buy for $17.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Named One of the Most Anticipated Books of 2022 by Vogue, BuzzFeed, Bustle, Marie Claire, Harper’s Bazaar, Electric Lit, Thrillist, Glamour, CNN, and Shondaland

“Wickedly funny and heartstoppingly vulnerable…every page twinkles with brilliance.” —Refinery29

Perfect for fans of Samantha Irby and Trick Mirror, a funny, whip-smart collection of personal essays exploring the intersection of queerness, relationships, pop culture, the internet, and identity, introducing one of the most undeniably original new voices today.

Jill Gutowitz’s life—for better and worse—has always been on a collision course with pop culture. There’s the time the FBI showed up at her door because of something she tweeted about Game of Thrones. The pop songs that have been the soundtrack to the worst moments of her life. And of course, the pivotal day when Orange Is the New Black hit the airwaves and broke down the door to Jill’s own sexuality. In these honest examinations of identity, desire, and self-worth, Jill explores perhaps the most monumental cultural shift of our lifetimes: the mainstreaming of lesbian culture. Dusting off her own personal traumas and artifacts of her not-so-distant youth she examines how pop culture acts as a fun house mirror reflecting and refracting our values—always teaching, distracting, disappointing, and revealing us.

Girls Can Kiss Now is a fresh and intoxicating blend of personal stories, sharp observations, and laugh-out-loud humor. This timely collection of essays helps us make sense of our collective pop-culture past even as it points the way toward a joyous, uproarious, near—and very queer—future.

©2022 Jill Gutowitz. All rights reserved. (P)2022 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: LGBTQ+

Critic Reviews

"Author/narrator Jill Gutowitz’s collection of reflective essays is funny, insightful, and very queer—in a good way. Her memories of her younger years in the ‘90s and ‘00s bring some sadness and, one imagines, healing for her and others. Her storytelling is engaging and often self-deprecating. Reminiscences about the importance of the television show “Orange Is the New Black” and the acceptance of Sapphic fashion—and how they and other iconic moments in pop culture over the last 30 years have transformed the public view of lesbianism—will resonate even with straight folks. No one else could convey her personal vulnerability with the finesse she does. Listeners will find themselves thinking of Gutowitz as a dear friend they need to invite over again." (AudioFile Magazine)

What listeners say about Girls Can Kiss Now

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    84
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    79
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

GOOD AND GAY

I’ve been a fan of jealous for a long time and have been eagerly awaiting the release of this book. I just finished it and already want to read it again. As someone who recently came out, I cannot thank Jill enough for sharing her story and helping me unpack all of the hidden queerness in the TV I watched growing up. I love being a lesbian!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Poor me

Not a book for lesbians born before the 90s. Comes off whiney and poor me. I guess some of it was funny but a lot was just... ridiculous.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

solid queer content

mostly easy to listen to - many parts of the author's stories are relatable, and so many of them do not hit unless you're into specifically white lesbian culture. I do also appreciate the references to lesbian Icons across the spectrum of race & color.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not my favorite

This book was not what I thought and it was rather boring for my liking.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Audio Book! Recommending to all my friends!

I really enjoyed this book, and thought the audiobook version was great! I enjoy audiobooks more than actual reading, but I’m picky about the voice of the reader. Thought it was so fun to listen to and really enjoy when the author is the reader. Jill is so animated that I think the audio enhances the experience of the book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Accurate & Hilarious Synthesis of a WLW

Being seven years older than the author, I have been curious about how and in what ways queer celebrity culture and media affected LGBTQIA kids younger than me. This book, through a very personal and hilarious framing, does a perfect job of explaining it to me. Thanks, Jill for sharing your story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I laughed out loud a hundred times

As a millennial lesbian, listening to this book was like finding a new best friend. The essays read by the author were hilarious analyses of how it felt to grow up in the 90s/00s and how much homophobia seeped into our young minds. She outlined traumatizing cultural phenomena and personal experiences that made think over and over while listening to this book- wow, so I was not the only one who felt that way. She also delineated how much gayness leaked into our psyche in this era and how spectacularly gay everything is now. This book made me examine my own coming out process, made me so stoked for the the gender-bending future, and made me feel very fuzzy and warm about being a lesbian.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Heartfelt Humor

Great read/listen for media and entertainment fans into celebrity blogs, tabloids and paparazzi who remember the days when it was almost impossible to find lesbian icons that went beyond butch stereotypes. Relatable humor and commentary throughout with just the right performance.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nat
  • Nat
  • 07-28-22

Jill Gutowitz For President

I have never written a proper book review until this one, but after a few seconds had passed since I’d finished Girls Can Kiss Now I knew I simply had to. What an incredible and accurate (no seriously, it’s almost slightly unnerving how accurate) depiction of what it means to be a girl that likes girls during this era. There is no better author for this time capsule either, Jill’s voice and opinions are equal parts a breath of fresh air and exactly what you’ve always been thinking. This book is new and exciting and resurrects the notion that novelty can still exist whilst simultaneously being familiar and inherently comforting. She is the kind of author that makes you feel like you’ve made a friend; a rare and special skill. What a great gift to the world and to our book shelves.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-02-22

Love it

I loved listening to a book of essays that is so relatable to the queer female experience that myself and I’m sure many others who were growing up during the 2000’s.