• Four Queens

  • The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe
  • By: Nancy Goldstone
  • Narrated by: Josephine Bailey
  • Length: 11 hrs and 31 mins
  • 3.9 out of 5 stars (252 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Set against the backdrop of the turbulent 13th century, a time of chivalry and crusades, poetry, knights, and monarchs, comes the story of the four beautiful daughters of the count of Provence, whose brilliant marriages made them the queens of France, England, Germany, and Sicily.

From a cultured childhood in Provence, each sister was propelled into a world marked by shifting alliances, intrigue, and subterfuge: Marguerite, the eldest, whose resolution and spirit would be tested by the cold splendor of the Palais du Roi in Paris; Eleanor, whose soaring political aspirations would provoke her kingdom to civil war; Sanchia, the neglected wife of the richest man in England, who bought himself the crown of Germany; and Beatrice, whose desire for sovereignty was so acute that she risked her life to earn her place at the royal table.

Four Queens shatters the myth that women were helpless pawns in a society that celebrated physical prowess and masculine intellect. A riveting historical saga for fans of Alison Weir and Antonia Fraser.

©2007 Nancy Goldstone (P)2007 Tantor Media Inc.

Critic Reviews

"Fascinating." (Booklist)
"On Goldstone's...rich, beautifully woven tapestry, medieval Europe springs to vivid life....This is a fresh, eminently enjoyable history." (Publishers Weekly)

What listeners say about Four Queens

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    84
  • 4 Stars
    85
  • 3 Stars
    58
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    10
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    70
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    61
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Entertaining!

I enjoyed this light historical biography of the four amazing sister princesses of medieval Provence. The narrator has a pleasant, easy-to-follow style. The historical facts are lightened with some humorous and interesting contemporary quotations and anecdotes. The author makes this world come alive for the listener. Delightful!

32 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Interesting, informative

I loved listening to this book! The book itself is well written. One forgets that it is a history and is soon drawn into the world of the Four Queens! The narrator was wonderful as well. I am looking for more books read by her. Highly recommended on all fronts!

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

A charming narrative

I fell in love with the narrative the moment I began listening and the book endeared me right till the end. Although primarily about the four Provencen Sisters, The book was a great for those people interested in the life of the top echelon of the society, their aspirations and troubles. I thoroughly enjoyed myself with this book.

The narrator's switching between Accents was charming and enhanced the narrative in no small way, this is a great book, and I'd love to read or listen to more books like this.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Four Queens ...

This was both a fascinating story about a period in history of which I knew very little. The narrator is wonderful as well, and the book engrossing.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Medieval Keeping Up with the Joneses

After reading the book summary of four sisters becoming queens of different countries, I imagined four extraordinary women, overcoming adversity, and against all odds, bringing
peace throughout the land (I wasn't a history major).

I bought this book after reading the author's "The Lady Queen" which I liked a great deal. This is a pretty good book- but the storylines of the sisters are quite separate most of the time. And when they do intersect, it's not always a happy family experience, but more in the line of trying to stop a scheming brother-in-law. There's no murder, incest, or insanity. Although, it takes place in the 13th century, the author conveys the personalities and the actions in such a way that it is relatable to the kinds of problems we deal with today. You have an overbearing mother-in-law that her kind son won't stand up to, your three older sisters publically snub you because they're more successful (they're queens, you're not), your husband isn't as smart or successful as his younger brother (even though your husband's the king) so you keep having to bribe the brother for his help to get anything done, etc. are just some of the issues that the sisters face. It's all very human.

I became very interested in Eleanor, the queen of England. She initially seems to have hit the marital jackpot. She had an arranged marriage (at, I think, 12) to an older man, but he turns out to be a devoted, loving husband, interested in the same things as her. One small problem: he's not that good at his job (as king). So she assists him. With her intelligence and initiative, this sounds like a perfect remedy. But she ends up becomes one of the most hated women in England for bringing in her foreign family members to help out.. and get well compensated for their trouble.

Probably one of the most interesting unanswered question for me from the book is why no one seems to like Beatrice. In the book, the animosity towards her is chalked up to inheritance issues. But that still doesn't explain why all three of the sisters (and I think the mother as well) don't care for her. Her husband, while a good husband to her, doesn't keep his word and is only out to enrich himself. But while he definitely contributes to the dislike, I have a feeling that their must have been some incident, lost to history, that led to the problem.

While a nonroyal group of sisters becoming Four Queens is an extraordinary situation that does capture attention, the reality of it is mainly a book of four different queens.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good, not great

As a popular history of some medieval queens, the author has to stretch a bit to unveil the lives of these women; there just aren't a lot of records about them. That said, I did feel the author took too many liberties when it came to assumption of emotion and motivation, e.g. "Beatrice must have felt..." It was hard to see how such liberties would be based on any sources. The author did quote contemporary and near-contemporary sources throughout the book, but these largely comment on events and actions, rather than feelings. As an audiobook, I got a little lost at times jumping between kingdoms. The book is largely chronological.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not a Historical Romance

If you are looking for a light read about historic females this is not the book for you. If you are interested in detailed history, then you are on the right track. I am of the later, but still found all of the character’s lives hard to follow, especially since it is an audible book, not a written book, which I personally find easier to absorb. Nevertheless this is a very interesting time of history and affords the reader a real sense of the complexity of that time in European history. I am enriched by reading it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

A Fascinating Study

Four Queens is a very "listenable" account of the lives of four sisters from Provence. I liked the narrator (who on a few occasions went into dramatic overdrive). I'm going to the south of France soon and I picked up some valuable history along with enjoying a well-told story.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Light, medieval history

I disagree with the more negative review, but I understand exactly what the reviewer means. This book is a light medieval history and like many histories the information is cobbled together a bit. It does seems disjointed because the story rotates among the sisters, and it's not in a perfect chronology, though it is _generally_ chronological. It's a good book but it's a more challenging listen than something like a historical romance. Two-thirds in, I was a little tired of it. BUT, if you don't know anything about these sisters and like medieval history, you will find the book fascinating.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Vastly disappointing

I had just finished Rival Queens and was so impressed with the story and narration I bought Four Queens. The entire book seemed to be about the husbands and their battles. The narration was without feeling whereas in Rival Queens even the footnotes were interesting. I will not be buying another by this author.

1 person found this helpful