Your audiobook is waiting…

Five Days Post Mortem (A Gripping Serial Killer Thriller)

Violet Darger FBI Thriller, Book 5
Narrated by: Kate Marcin
Series: Violet Darger, Book 5
Length: 9 hrs and 26 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (50 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Her body floats. A bloated thing half atop the river. Naked. Pale. Mouth and eyes open wide. 

When two fishermen discover a corpse floating in the Clackamas river, profiler Violet Darger heads to rural Oregon to hunt another serial killer. What she discovers in the woods might change the course of her life. 

What secrets does the water conceal? 

The girl in the water marks the third such case in the area - all drowned with superficial stab wounds and discovered in a body of water - and Darger feels certain she won't be the last. 

The corpses are badly decomposed. The flesh purpled and softened from their time in the water. The forensic evidence distorted by decay and the elements. 

But the victims share one more thing in common - all were discovered roughly five days post mortem. A coincidence? Something with meaning to be discerned? 

Darger suspects the timeline to be significant, but without evidence, she can only guess as to why. That sets up what might be the key to the case:

What is the killer doing to the victims for the four days between their deaths and dumping their bodies? 

It's Darger's first case without Loshak, and it will test her like none before. 

This pulse-pounding thriller will have you holding your breath until the very end. Fans of John Sandford, Karin Slaughter, Gillian Flynn, and Lisa Gardner should check out the Violet Darger series. 

The books in the series can be listened to in any order, so grab Five Days Post Mortem and get started today.

©2019 L.T. Vargus, Tim McBain (P)2019 L.T. Vargus, Tim McBain

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Violet is back!

Thank you for giving Violet back her strength and brilliance! Loved everything about this book, great twist and sad ending! Awesome

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Called it

dramatic change in writing style makes the ending pretty obvious, it would have been great if it was the first in the series though.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Vargus and McBain do it again!

Just when I think I know Violet Darger, she surprises me yet again! Now consulting as she considers whether she can return to the FBI, she is thrown into a case with a brand new partner. I loved the twists and turns. Can't wait for the next installment!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Book 5 is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!

In Five Days Post Mortem, Violet is on a hiatus from the FBI, working as a private consultant.
While I missed Loshak being her partner, she was along side "The Bug Guy," Fowles, another private consultant, working for the same agency. I LOVE him!
He did a good job as her "partner in crime" and his story sure brought about much emotion.
I went through this entire book not knowing who the killer was until we were told! I was shocked!

Like all of the other Violet Darger books, this is not one to be missed!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Violet Darger at her best!!

L.T. Vargus & Tim McBain have created one of the best FBI thriller series that I’ve read or listened to. With the release of each new book I’m left in awe that they were able to best their last. Violet Darger returns in Five Days Post Mortem, while she is still on sabbatical from the FBI, she takes a consulting profiler role in a serial killer investigation, and what an investigation she gets involved in. Along with being action packed, the inclusion of Entomology and Jungian psychology make this story almost impossible to put down. If you are a fan of Violet Darger or Patricia Cornwell, Five Days Post Mortem will not disappoint, and if you are new to this series, listening to this book will likely create the need to go back and read or listen to the previous Varger and Loshak books.
It would be criminally negligent to not mention Kate Marcin’s narration. Kate’s narration is perfect for this series, her delivery and voice are awesome!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wheelie26
  • Wheelie26
  • 07-19-19

Another victory for both Violet and McBain and Vargus.

Another winner for McBain and Vargus and a brilliant performance by Kate Marcin.
Violet Darger, an FBI psychological profiler, is on leave from her job but gets involved with a consulting agency to profile a serial killer who is dumping young women’s bodies into water.
This time she is working without her partner Victor Loshak but teams up with an entomologist who also works with the consulting agency and has a secret all of his own.
They work through the twists and turns of the case to try to prevent any more deaths but the case is more complex than they expected and Violet knows there she is missing something vital.
McBain and Vargus have really done their research with this book to ensure that all the details are realistic and it helps to make the book a real hit.
The book is perfectly narrated by Kate Marcin who really brings the story and the character to life.
If you like psychological thrillers you won’t be sorry you listened to this.
Don’t worry if you haven’t read the previous books in the series it will stand alone fine.