• Five Days Post Mortem (A Gripping Serial Killer Thriller)

  • Violet Darger FBI Thriller, Book 5
  • By: L.T. Vargus, Tim McBain
  • Narrated by: Kate Marcin
  • Length: 9 hrs and 26 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (230 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Her body floats. A bloated thing half atop the river. Naked. Pale. Mouth and eyes open wide. 

When two fishermen discover a corpse floating in the Clackamas river, profiler Violet Darger heads to rural Oregon to hunt another serial killer. What she discovers in the woods might change the course of her life. 

What secrets does the water conceal? 

The girl in the water marks the third such case in the area - all drowned with superficial stab wounds and discovered in a body of water - and Darger feels certain she won't be the last. 

The corpses are badly decomposed. The flesh purpled and softened from their time in the water. The forensic evidence distorted by decay and the elements. 

But the victims share one more thing in common - all were discovered roughly five days post mortem. A coincidence? Something with meaning to be discerned? 

Darger suspects the timeline to be significant, but without evidence, she can only guess as to why. That sets up what might be the key to the case:

What is the killer doing to the victims for the four days between their deaths and dumping their bodies? 

It's Darger's first case without Loshak, and it will test her like none before. 

This pulse-pounding thriller will have you holding your breath until the very end. Fans of John Sandford, Karin Slaughter, Gillian Flynn, and Lisa Gardner should check out the Violet Darger series. 

The books in the series can be listened to in any order, so grab Five Days Post Mortem and get started today.

©2019 L.T. Vargus, Tim McBain (P)2019 L.T. Vargus, Tim McBain

What listeners say about Five Days Post Mortem (A Gripping Serial Killer Thriller)

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    163
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    159
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    132
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Same old

Violet doesn’t ever seem to grow as a character. She is always responsible for lethal confrontation. Never seems to work with her partner. Every book I read I hope for growth but haven’t seen it yet. I am starting to dislike her. She is impulsive and self absorbed and not very bright. Please give Violet a soul and self reflection and a true partner who is actually involved in the story

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Violet is back!

Thank you for giving Violet back her strength and brilliance! Loved everything about this book, great twist and sad ending! Awesome

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Too much wandering in the villain's head

This is the second Violet Darger book I've listened to an it will be the last. The author spends way too much time wandering, without purpose, into the killer's mind. It doesn't further the plot, nor does it develop the character. The narrator, Kate Marcin, does a better job in this audio than in book one. However, her mispronunciations continue to grate. Get an editor!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great

THIS REVIEW IS FOR BOTH THE AUDIOBOOK AND EBOOK VERSIONS
Great story twisted thrilling intriguing and unexpected. Narration was wonderful as well. I recommend this book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Predictable but still a great read.

This time the ending was pretty predictable with the "men always do it" talk. Which stuck out because Lt rarely mentions gender. Other than that, another great story. This series is great!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CP
  • 06-28-20

Wow!

I didn't see it coming! What a great ending. Must read. This was by far better than the 1st which I thought couldn't be topped!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Keep Going Forward Violet

I hope this case inspires Violet to keep going forward with her life and find her PATH.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love series

I really hope the authors continue the series on Audible because I need more violet darger

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Called it

dramatic change in writing style makes the ending pretty obvious, it would have been great if it was the first in the series though.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Vargus and McBain do it again!

Just when I think I know Violet Darger, she surprises me yet again! Now consulting as she considers whether she can return to the FBI, she is thrown into a case with a brand new partner. I loved the twists and turns. Can't wait for the next installment!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wheelie26
  • Wheelie26
  • 07-19-19

Another victory for both Violet and McBain and Vargus.

Another winner for McBain and Vargus and a brilliant performance by Kate Marcin.
Violet Darger, an FBI psychological profiler, is on leave from her job but gets involved with a consulting agency to profile a serial killer who is dumping young women’s bodies into water.
This time she is working without her partner Victor Loshak but teams up with an entomologist who also works with the consulting agency and has a secret all of his own.
They work through the twists and turns of the case to try to prevent any more deaths but the case is more complex than they expected and Violet knows there she is missing something vital.
McBain and Vargus have really done their research with this book to ensure that all the details are realistic and it helps to make the book a real hit.
The book is perfectly narrated by Kate Marcin who really brings the story and the character to life.
If you like psychological thrillers you won’t be sorry you listened to this.
Don’t worry if you haven’t read the previous books in the series it will stand alone fine.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for viki
  • viki
  • 06-17-20

ok

not as good or as gripping as previous books in the series but not bad! narrator was great as always, the slight change she puts in her voice when she speaks from the killers point of view, throughout every book, makes it instantly recognisable without trying to be over dramatic. very good narration!