Regular price: $22.60

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

With his colorful tattoos and booming hip-hop sound track, Mike Iaconelli has turned the world of big-money competitive bass fishing upside down. In Fishing on the Edge, Iaconelli tells his own story, and it's a whopper: a Philly-born, Jersey-bred Yankee who's been stealing the spotlight from bass fishing's traditionally all-Southern anglers, attracting fans and dominating one of the fastest-growing sports in America.

Forty-four million Americans fish, but no one does it quite like Mike Iaconelli. In Fishing on the Edge, he lets you in on the secrets to his extraordinary success; how he developed his "power" fishing style, how he attacks the water, positions the boat, and perseveres through those days when the bass just aren't biting. With tips that can be used by any fisherman, from using spinner baits to picking out the right rod to his no-fail "secret weapons", this is an intensive, informative, and often raucous journey through the life of a brash young man destined to do for fishing what Tony Hawk did for the X Games: take the sport to a whole new level. At the same time, it's the compelling first-person story of a man who prepared carefully every step of the way, kept notes on every fish he ever caught, and executed the perfect plan to get to the top.

A tale of passion, competition, and extreme personality, Fishing on the Edge is a book for anyone who loves the sport of fishing, wants to turn a hobby into a career, or is simply fascinated by a man's unstoppable drive to succeed.

©2005 Mike Iaconelli (P)2005 Random House, Inc. Random House Audio, a division of Random House, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    88
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    71
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    70
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Nate
  • Calamus, IA, USA
  • 12-20-05

what you would expect

This wasn't a bad book. Yet it was what you'd expect. The story of Iconelli's life is interesting but not unique enough to be considered compelling. The other problem with the book is that it seems like it was written for a high school english composition class. Ike is really fond of trying to sound hip in his writing, so if you don't want to hear the phrase "I was totally stoked.." a thousand times you had better rethink this purchase. I bought the book hoping for fishing tips. They are there, but they are the same tips found on his web page and don't amount to much taken as a whole.

With that said, I don't feel like the book is unworthy of a listen. If you like fishing this listen will be moderately worth your time. But don't expect more than Ike can deliver!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Keith
  • Fond du Lac, WI, USA
  • 09-15-05

Great Book. Worth a listen.

A good book for fans of BASS or FLW. Ike's personality shines through and makes for a quick listen. Good stories and some tips. Very entertaining.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great book for bass fisherman.

very inspiring and cool to know pros struggle just like amateurs on the lake. Never give up.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

big fan

my dad grew up with Ike back in the day and and always told me stories about them catching frogs and fishing together and that's what got me into fishing and by listening to this made me want to fish even more from all the knowledge I learned and makes me even more of a fan.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good

'bout what i expected. thanks ike. keep doin what we love and give us another book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book for any Angler.

Great book. Mikes story is amazing. From the beginning on how he came into Fishing, to how he almost got out. Definitely an adventure. I felt like I was on the boat with him. Great job! You just got another fan.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

awesome book

hearing it from iaconelli himself was cool
learning how he want's to change bass tournament was different

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Didn't suck

Good story. I'd like to hear something more updated as this is a bit old. Ike is due for another book/audiobook. Fun listen. Nice and quick. Story seems a little scattered at some points but it's pretty easy to follow. Thanks for a good un, Ike!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good book

Good book if you enjoy fishing. Not much in the aspect of techniques and lures. But still a great read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome for about all Anglers

Loved it! Inspiring and captivating. Ike is the real deal! Hoping for more from Mike!!!