Regular price: $19.95

Free with 30-day trial Membership
Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free - plus an audiobook, on us.
  • 1 credit a month after trial - good for any title.
  • Easy exchange. Don't love book? swap it for free.
  • Exchange books you don't like
  • After your free trial, Audible is $14.95 a month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Built by a madwoman during the Victorian era, Lake House is a 160-room mansion in the Adirondacks with stairways that lead nowhere, bizarre rooms designed to distort the senses, endless series of mazelike halls - and a century-long history of violent deaths.

Lauren Montgomery, her son Garrett, and her new rock star husband Stephen Ransom have just arrived at Lake House, anticipating a long and relaxing summer. But what they don't know is that their rental home is actually a labyrinthine puzzle at whose center lurks something unspeakably evil....

An inventive and chilling haunted house story in the vein of Mark Z. Danielewski's House of Leaves, Michael Talbot's Night Things (1988) is a mixture of horror and fantasy from the author of The Delicate Dependency.

©2017 Michael Talbot (P)2017 Valancourt Books, LLC

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

thought it would be more scary.

First I have that Eric Moore did a fine job with this story. He had an excellent voice for the subject matter.

Now on to the book; it starts ok, then the pace slows down. I thought more would happen. but really not much did. I mean the house was cool. but I wish they explored it more. The mothers choice in men.. was awful, and her husband... well He was a jerk.
The kid " be friends" the monster thingy but, the last few chapters had me very lost. and when i was done with the book, I closed it, and thought, what? what just happened?


I was voluntarily provided this free review copy audiobook by the author, narrator, or publisher.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Entertaining

This was my first Michael Talbot, but not my first Eric Moore book. The story was an engaging 3.5 star listen. It wasn't as scary as I thought it would be from the cover, title, and synopsis. But, it was still fun.

Eric brought the characters to life and, not to give anything away, was really impressive with his incantations. He delivered the quality performance I've come to expect, and still surprised me with the way he adapts and performs new scenes that are different than anything I've heard before. Overall a fun, fast listen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Creepy

Great story,very creepy. Excellent narrator too. I received a free review copy of this audiobook at my request and I have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Highly Entertaining

What a fun listen! Starting with a real life conundrum (a boy and his step father do not get along) that satisfyingly grows into something much bigger and more sinister; this story was similar to House of Leaves, but better, I think. Three compelling characters drive this story, all of which I despised and felt for, at times. This story had a fascinating and believable relationship between mother and young son, who happens to be quite brilliant. I won't say much about the paranormal element for fear of spoilers but I will say that the 'monster' was a delicious change of pace that took me by surprise. Some paranormal stories these days are weak on plot. This one has a strong plot, great characters and awesome scares. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a paranormal thriller.

I was voluntarily provided this free review copy audiobook by the author, narrator, or publisher.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A decent but not very scary ghost story

I was given this free review copy audio book at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

I will start by saying Eric Moore is a great narrator and did a tremendous job bringing the story to life. That being said, for a ghost story, it wasn't very scary or tense. I mean, it WAS entertaining, but that was all. It reminded me of a Goosebumps story trying to do Cabin in the Woods. Decent, but don't expect it to keep you from sleeping at night.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Hauntingly Good!

Super creepy haunted house story! Grabbed me from the beginning and loved it from beginning to end. Perfect for those who love paranormal, isolation, creepy mansion stories. Similar to the Rose Red style, Winchester house mansions this story is about a mother and son and a new husband/father who head to the mountains to rent a mansion for the summer. Not everything or everyone is who they appear and the build up and twists and turns are wonderful. The narrator Eric Moore does a fabulous job with every character. A definite must listen!!! I look forward to more listens from the author and narrator! I received a free review copy of this book at my request in exchange for an honest review.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great story!

This is a great story with lots of terrific imagination. You won't regret listening to this supernatural tale of horror.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Instant mashed potatoes and french toast

Any additional comments?

I loved that line in the book so much, I needed it as a title.I enjoyed the idea of the book more than the execution in most of it. The writing was good, but I didn't really like most of the characters. I even went back and forth on the protagonists. But maybe that is the point. I cannot imagine a real-life scenario where I like everyone and/or everyone's decisions all the time either.I would have liked to have had some of the creepier venues and situations built out more. To me, this could have been a really good short story. The audio version was performed well by Eric Bryan Moore. This book was given to me for free at my request for my voluntary and unbiased review.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Night Things

Excellent story, very well written. This story held my interest from beginning to end. Full of surprises.

The narration does justice to the story. The narrators voice is perfect for this story

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Atmospheric haunted house story with a twist

This is absolutely my favorite type of story, that is to say, the creepy old house that's full of foreboding, where the entire town knows it's off-limits, and only the naive new renters in this case are clueless.

I could read 100 books like this and never get bored. That being said, I must give Night Things especially high marks because Michael Talbot managed to two two specific twists/surprises into this story, both of which left me with my jaw dropped when they were revealed.

The narrator, Eric Bryan Moore, was amazing. Whether he is doing the voice of a child, woman or angry, aging rock star, he gives it 100% of his emotion and talent.

This was one of those books I couldn't wait to return to. I was given this book in exchange for an honest review, and I hope to hear more both from this author and this narrator.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.