• Endurance

  • Green Universe, Book 2
  • By: Jay Lake
  • Narrated by: Katherine Kellgren
  • Length: 13 hrs and 37 mins
  • 4.1 out of 5 stars (126 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Endurance  By  cover art

Endurance

By: Jay Lake
Narrated by: Katherine Kellgren
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Green is back in Copper Downs. Purchased from her father in sunny Selistan when she was four years old, she was harshly raised to be a courtesan, companion, and bedmate of the Immortal Duke of Copper Downs. But Green rebelled.Green killed the Duke, and many others, and won her freedom. Yet she is still claimed by the gods and goddesses of her world, and they still require her service. Their demands are greater than any duke's could have been.

Godslayers have come to the Stone Coast, magicians whose cult is dedicated to destroying the many gods of Green's world.In the turmoil following the Immortal Duke's murder, Green made a God out of her power and her memories.Now the gods turn to her to protect them from the Slayers.

Jay Lake brings us an epic fantasy not "in the tradition of Tolkien," but, instead, sensual, ominous, shot through with the sweat of fear and the intoxication of power.

Also listen to the first book, Green.
©2011 Joseph E. Lake, Jr. (P)2011 Audible, Inc.

Critic reviews

"Lake deftly weaves complicated, stubborn characters into a plot that reaches the grandest and most personal scales without ever straining credulity… This complex, lonesome, haunting novel will appeal to fans of Valente, Monette, and Mieville." (Publishers Weekly)

What listeners say about Endurance

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    57
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    64
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable

I enjoyed the book in many ways more than the first.

The performance was so good I sought out other things Katherine Kellgren did.

As with the last book there is enough action to keep things moving and enough surprises to keep you guessing.

The best and worst part is that clearly there needs to be another book in the series. Hopefully I won't have to wait long.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

6 people found this helpful