adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

She went to take on The Powerful, only to discover secrets about herself she could never fathom.

Pellucid Rose accepts the dark and alluring God of Secret’s invitation to come to the Empire of Secrets to help him solve the mystery of how sealed secrets are leaking - a problem that, if not solved quickly, could doom the Empire of Secrets.

But the instant she steps from Harpoc’s dark and swirling shadows, beings blanch as they spot the ring she’s worn her entire life; it’s her only connection to parents she’s never known.

What lengths will she have to go to, to discover the truth about the ring, and how will she cope when the truth shatters everything she’s known about herself?

Empire of Secrets is the second audiobook in the enthralling God of Secrets paranormal fantasy series. Fans of Sarah J. Maas, K. F. Breene, and Laura Thalassa will adore USA Today best-selling author L. R. W. Lee’s vulnerable, intimate, and gritty tale of fierce mythical creatures, magical adventures, and unique ancient myth retellings.

Buy Empire of Secrets to dive into a secret affair today!

©2020 L. R. W. Lee (P)2021 L. R. W. Lee

What listeners say about Empire of Secrets

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story

okay 1st off, WTF!!!! really Lee !!!! 🤯😤😤 you just had to end the book was a cliffhanger. grrrrr, 2nd, you guy need to read this series its so good. i get so into it that i can picture a movie going on in my head. my imagination goes wild. this is a must read/ listen and the narrator i got to say is doing an amazing job. I cant wait till the next book is out.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So much comes out

My mind is blown right now. So many secrets or things you may have noticed from the first book or in the beginning of this book, or maybe things you started to question like "OK this has to mean something or the author wouldn't keep bringing attention to it", gets answered. Obviously not all at once and I have to say, my favorite part of both books is the continued monologue she has with herself. Does that mean something too? I guess we'll have to wait and see maybe in the next book as this author is full of surprises. Anyways, Pel gets answers about her ring and some of what Harpoc does and starts to understand what he does, even if she doesn't like it but she realizes that he is a slave to his life and has no choice. However, he has built himself a family which she meets and is welcomed by. They teach her about "herself" and Harpocs world and how it came to be. I can't say about the surprises without giving the story away but in spending so much time with Harpoc, not only does she fall in love with him she learns a secret that he's been keeping from her, just from a scent and apparently everyone from his world knew it but her. Other than these two and their secrets, there is magic and battles and diplomacy and revelations and Pels personal strides along with her continued banter with herself. Definitely a must in the listening column. Gah, can't wait to get my hands on book 3.

I have to say, the narrator did amazing. Even her parts with the inner banter were perfect. Each character were perfectly done and easily identifiable and had characteristics of there own that she did amazing on bringing out. I look forward to hearing more of her work.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Bewitching!

The Empire of Secrets begins as Harpoc and Pell are tripskipping to his kingdom to crack the case of leaking secrets and to show her how he lives. Arriving on an island that floats on air currents, she knows that she's in a new unknown. Once at home, Harpoc introduces her to his core advisers that he calls family and Pell is amazed at their individual powers. Before Pell agreed to accompany him home, he promised her that he would be more forthcoming and her trust in him begins to grow. At home, Harpoc is met with battles all around and he realizes that they are due to the leaking of secrets and it's his duty, as god of secrets, to seal them again. Pell is upset that Harpoc is allowing and sealing secrets that may destroy a civilization. Is giving the secrets of American technology and knowledge to the Chinese okay with him? That certainly hit home with her (and me)! As time goes on, she begins to see the soft side of Harpoc on his home island, but something doesn't sit quite right. He's still keeping secrets from her when he promised not to. I feel that she overreacts a little by accusing him of betraying her, but there's a reason for Harpoc's hesitance. This is such a captivating story and the characters are written with such a clear purpose and personality that they simply jump off the page. Pell embraces who and what she is, and life seems to have taken a remarkable turn for. But things aren't as safe as they seem as she's attacked and taken away to the Empire of Glass. I need to know their future!  Sarah Kisko has done another wonderful job with the narration. She has the ability to pull you into the story with her dynamic voice and clear characterizations. 

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Read as the Series Continues

This is the story of Pell as she continues to learn about herself and love between herself and the God of Secrets. While this book is written in a paranormal realm using a twist to the history that Pell has always loved to study and understand. As characters from history keep coming alive for both Pell and Harpoc to deal with their relationship also develops.

A fast-paced and adventuresome read. Can't wait for Book 3 in the series to see both how their journey continues along with how their love continues to develop.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Empire of Secrets book 2

This book is excellent just like book one and I recommend it to anybody that likes adventure and excitement. I am ready for book three now

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wow

such amazing book! I was hang on every word and didn't want to put it down until I finished. definitely love it. will recommend to my reader friends.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Read!!

Learning more about Secrets has been exciting. I’ve loved watching the relationships between Pel and Harp grow. Getting to know Harpochs core advisors has been interesting. They each hold such interesting qualities. I love them. Definitely give this series a try. You will not be disappointed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This book starts out right where book 1 ended!!

Great Series, Great Narrator!!
This 2nd book brings a lot of secrets out for Pal and she discovers Sooo much. I am impressed by this Author's writing and this Series, love the various worlds described in this book. Oh no!! This book ends with a Cliffhanger, but thankfully the 3rd Audible book is out and I have downloaded it. Can not wait to start it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good book worth the price

This is a good book I really enjoyed the characters & story line of this a new series for me! I can’t wait to read the next one! It is worth the cost if you like books on magic.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A fascinating world

The author does a wonderful job of building this fascinating world that Pell has been thrust into making home. And I really enjoyed the various accents the narrator used for the various characters. Looking forward to what happens in book three!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helen
  • Helen
  • 03-19-21

Fabulous

She want to take on the powerful, only
To discover about herself
Fabulous story x

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-19-21

Unexpected side themes of body positivity and really moving and uplifting scenes

I was so not expecting the big focus on body positivity in this book, and some of the themes and scenes were incredibly moving which you wouldn’t usually get from this genre. The voice actor makes each character memorable, so even though I get names confused a lot when I read, there was no way of getting them muddled up. This was written so incredibly well, I loved it. This is fast becoming one of my new favourite series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ChaosKay (Audiobook Obsession Reviewer)
  • ChaosKay (Audiobook Obsession Reviewer)
  • 02-22-21

Great book

I really enjoyed listening to book 2 of this series. Pell decides to help Harpoc to find out who is leaking secrets so she goes back to his realm. Harpoc promises not to keep secrets from her but he’s keeping one big secret that almost gets him killed but can she forgive him when she finds out what it is .

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tracy Reader
  • Tracy Reader
  • 02-17-21

Young adults will love it

Being outside of the target audience didn't spoil my enjoyment of this sometimes delightful fantasy, though I would recommend reading or listening first to book one.

Sarah Kisko is a wonderful voice actor and her input brought to life a story which might otherwise perhaps be just another fantasy romance.

I'm not a fan of the purple patch and the story does contain quite a big one, that said, I imagine the young adult reader will love it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susan Dunkley
  • Susan Dunkley
  • 02-14-21

More Magic

Another great listen by Author L.R.W Lee, brilliant narration by Sarah Kisko looking forward to Book 3