Your audiobook is waiting…

Embrace the Fire

Shadow Warriors, Book 3
Narrated by: Colin Iago McCarthy
Series: Shadow Warriors Series, Book 6
Length: 23 hrs and 56 mins
5 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

“He who seeks vengeance must dig two graves: one for his enemy and one for himself.”

In the Middle East, refugees fleeing dictatorship and terrorism pour across the borders into Europe, destabilizing countries already in the throes of economic crisis. But not all who seek refuge share the same reasons for so doing.... In the UK, the nationalist far right gathers strength - fueled by a government unable or unwilling to protect its own. England is on the brink. All it will take to send it tumbling into the abyss...is a single push. And in the midst of it all, two men have arrived in London, dark harbingers of death to come. One of them is a terrorist, responsible for one of the most successful attacks against the West in the years since 9/11. The other, an assassin, come to take his life.

Fifteen years Harry Nichols spent as a CIA paramilitary operations officer. Fifteen long years of war, tracking America’s enemies across the world. Hunting them down - killing them. Before they could strike. Until the Christmas Eve attacks on Las Vegas forced him to resign from the agency. Attacks which killed hundreds of innocent Americans, claimed the life of the woman he had sworn to protect. The woman he loved. Forced out into the cold, Nichols has found himself in the UK, operating without sanction, without law. A man without a country - come to London with a single purpose: kill the man responsible for the attacks in Vegas. Avenge her death. No matter what it takes. What lines must be crossed. What faiths must be betrayed. There are no rules, not any more. Only vengeance. His career with the CIA is over. His war...has only just begun.

©2016 Stephen England (P)2019 Stephen England

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Great Thriller from Stephen England

Embrace the Fire is the 3rd book in the Shadow Warriors series of thrillers by bestselling author Stephen England and it was just released in audiobook format this August, three years after its original publication in print.

After 15 years in the covert world of espionage, bringing justice in the War on Terror, ex-CIA operative Harry Nichols is back in the fight, his unsanctioned mission is to find and kill the man responsable for the deadliest terrorist attack on US soil since 9/11 and for the death of a loved one. Filled with vivid characters, touching on world problems still relevant today and pushed by a well written plot, Embrace the Fire is another great thriller from one of my favorites thriller authors.

As you might know,if you read my previous reviews, I hate spoilers so this is all I'll tell yu about the plot.

I suggest that you listen to Day of Reckoning before you dive into Embrace the Fire, as the events are linked and you'll understand the story better, especially since both the author and the narrator did a great job with both books. Stephen included some details from that book into this one, in order to help everyone understand Harry's motivation, but if you didn't read Day of Reckoning, you should, it's great and you'll be treated to a great story and deep character development.

Voiceover artist and narrator Colin Iago McCarthy returns once again to the battlefield of the Shadow Warriors and gives life to all the characters created with passion by Stephen England. Delivering another great narration for Embrace the Fire, Colin establishes his role as the voice of Harry Nichols, reading, acting, keeping the action going and the entertainment flowing.

By today's standards, Embrace the Fire is a lengthy audiobook, but the great story, combined with a heartfelt narration transfortms it into an immersive narrative experience that I enjoyed from the first minute to its last.

Stephen England is one of those rare authors who doesn’t use profanity or on needed violence in his works. His books are easy to read and it’s very clear the a lot of research has been done for them. I enjoyed each and everyone of them and I'll be always willing to embark on another adventure in the world of the Shadow Warriors.

Fans of Tom Clancy, Daniel Silva and W.E.B Griffin will love Stephen's stories and the respect with which he treats the men and women that put their lives in danger everytime they go into the field.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful