1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Don't Hate the Player  By  cover art

Don't Hate the Player

By: Alexis Nedd
Narrated by: Aaron Landon,Stacy Gonzalez
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $18.21

Buy for $18.21

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Bloomsbury presents Don't Hate the Player by Alexis Nedd, read by Aaron Landon and Stacy Gonzalez.

From an exciting new voice comes a funny and heartfelt young adult romance set in the world of competitive gaming, perfect for fans of Opposite of Always and Slay.

Emilia Romero is living a double life. By day, she’s a field hockey star with a flawless report card. But by night, she’s kicking virtual ass as the only female member of a highly competitive eSports team. Emilia has mastered the art of keeping her two worlds thriving, which hinges on them staying completely separate. That's in part to keep her real-life persona, but also for her own safety, since girl gamers are often threatened and harassed. 

When a major eSports tournament comes to her city, Emilia is determined to prove herself to her team and the male-dominated gaming community. But her perfectly balanced life is thrown for a loop when a member of a rival team recognizes her....

Jake Hooper has had a crush on Emilia since he was 10 years old. When his underdog eSports team makes it into the tournament, he's floored to discover she's been leading a double life. The fates bring Jake and Emilia together as they work to keep her secret, even as the pressures of the tournament and their non-gaming world threaten to pull everything apart.

Debut author Alexis Nedd has crafted a young adult combo-punch of charming romance and virtual adventure that will win the hearts of gamers and non-gamers alike.

©2021 Alexis Nedd (P)2021 Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

Critic Reviews

"Refreshingly voice-y, wildly smart and genuinely hilarious." (Casey McQuiston, New York Times best-selling author of Red, White & Royal Blue)

"In this delightfully entertaining romance, Nedd covers an impressive range of topics with a rare combination of hilarity, sarcasm and sincerity. Gamers and nongamers alike will squeal, cheer and boo in this page-turner. A sure winner." (Kirkus Reviews)

"A great pick for video game nerds and fans of Brittney Morris’ Slay." (School Library Journal)

What listeners say about Don't Hate the Player

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.