adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A human sacrifice unlocks a chilling mystery, and leads Nichelle Clarke into a world of unimaginable danger. 

Perfect for fans of James Patterson, J.D. Robb, and Melinda Leigh. 

When Richmond police find a young woman's bloody remains spread across a candle-lit altar in an abandoned power plant on the banks of the James River, they give crime reporter Nichelle Clarke an all-access pass in exchange for her help. 

But the information Nichelle gets from the victim's friends only draws her deeper into the mystery. Where did Jasmine come from? How did she end up on the streets of Shockoe Bottom? And why doesn't she have any dental records? 

The answer trail stops at the front doors of a sprawling compound in the foothills of the Blue Ridge, where Nichelle finds a secretive cult leader and his devoted following. It is a world where lies become truth, and money is the true idol. Money some people would do anything to keep collecting....

Even if it means murdering a nosy reporter.

©2015 LynDee Walker (P)2019 Audible, Inc.

What listeners say about Devil in the Deadline

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    275
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    270
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    234
  • 4 Stars
    62
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Really enjoying these books... but...

I don't know if it's just b/c I've listened to the first 4 books back to back but the caught in the middle of the 2 guys thing is getting old & annoying. You have already told the one guy you want to be just friends, you have already slept with the other guy. WHY do we keep going back & forth like you owe the "friend" an explanation or to coddle his precious little male ego? It's annoying & I'm tired of hearing it.
Also find the constant being shot at as annoying & unrealistic. I can overlook this though b/c I understand it's just for some extra drama, so whatever.
Even w/these extremely annoying things in the book, I love these stories.
They hold my interest enough to keep me listening to the next one.
Hopefully the annoying things will get worked out soon so it will be a 5 star review instead of a 4.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The best yet

I'm glad I gave this series another chance. This latest addition is full of action and twists and turns, with a side of romance. I give it 5 stars.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great character design!

Awesome narrator for all the books. Books are a little quirky at first but definitely worth a read!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Nichelle continues to grow and enthrall

A investigation into the ritualistic murder of a homeless person and its links to a popular christian outreach lead Nichelle into ever more danger and, yet, provides strange possible clues to family. Another excellent performance by Therese Plummer keep you involved in the story and cheering for Nichelle to get the story!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Nicholls Clark series

love this series once O start listening it is hard to put down can't wait to read the rest of the series

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

favorite new author!

I am so glad I stumbled across LynDee Walker! Audible had her books in suggestions for me and I have been riveted to the Nichelle Clarke Series! Fantastic writing, immersive experience, and Therese Plummer is an OUTSTANDING narrator! An absolute hidden gem and can't wait for more!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lyndee Walkers audio books are excellent

Lyndee Walker is an amazing Author. I absolutely love her stories. And the reading of her books is perfect. Looking forward to more.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Devil in the Deadline

Holy moly this book is all kinds of crazy. We get some romance!
I love and hate books that have the church involved because it’s always so mysterious and you never know how it will portrayed.

I didn’t expect the stuff with Nichelle’s mother that was interest.

I felt terrible for Kyle too, his feeling are alive a well but for Nichelle it is more friendship with affection I think from their past.
Again loving the narration.