Dead in the Water: A Space Team Universe Novel

Dan Deadman Space Detective, Book 3
Narrated by: Phil Thron
Length: 9 hrs and 3 mins
4.8 out of 5 stars (439 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Dan Deadman's afterlife just hit an all new low.

When a suspect explodes mid-interrogation and his office is taken over by an intergalactic despot, undead detective Dan Deadman reckons he's finally hit rock bottom.

Banished to a dangerous underground hostel network, Dan becomes embroiled in a mass-murder investigation that will take him from the bowels of Down Here to the depths of the ocean. As the clues run out and the case collapses around him, Dan discovers a sinister plot that could wipe out two whole civilizations, and plunge the planet of Parloo into an endless bloody war.

Featuring terrifying sea monsters, killer toilets, and an anatomically correct children's cartoon mascot who'll haunt your nightmares forever, Dead in the Water is the third book in the Dan Deadman Space Detective series and perfect for fans of Space Team, The Dresden Files, and tiny aggressive Irish fellas.

©2018 Barry J. Hutchison (P)2018 Barry J. Hutchison

What listeners say about Dead in the Water: A Space Team Universe Novel

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    373
  • 4 Stars
    55
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    391
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    339
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Damn, Deadman! Back at it again!

Okay, so I don’t have the best titles to my reviews but Barry J. Hutchison really does have another hilarious and entertaining story to tell. Phil Thron does a MASTERFUL job with the Space Team Universe. His accents are perfect, his comic timing and tone, flawless. I listen to podcasts and audiobooks for about 12-14 hours a day, almost every day and this is EASILY, the most laugh out loud, make a bad day better series I’ve found.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love the voices

great book and the voices are spectacular. I like that there are bloopers at the end.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I am so in love with these books!

So much fun! The outtakes at the end are hilarious too. you won't be disappointed,!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another awesomely-funny and little disturbing book!

Can’t get enough of Barry’s writing and Phil’s performance! Still love the mess ups at the end. You have to be an idiot not to love these these audiobooks!...or have a stick shoved so far up yourself that you don’t have a personality. One or the other. Really need to have space Jehovah Witness types added at some point as the religious stalkers of the universe.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hilarious

Another great book in the series. Narrated very well. Plenty of action and humor. You won't be disappointed.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

😂😂😂😂😂

Just another fun and exciting laugh a minute adventure. Can't wait for the next installment to be published.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome pick me up

If you are ever in need of a laugh, read this book. Bad day? Sad? Read this book. Not only is it well written and narrated it is engaging and literally laugh out loud funny.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best series I have ever listened to

Though it occurs to me as this book ended that I probably should have listened to the authors other space series first, I don't know that it mattered all that much. This is still hands down one of the best series I have ever read/listened to. I can't recommend it enough.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very Entertaining

Artus is one if the best characters every! Laughed my Funking hairy bollocks off! Great performance!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lol. ROFL

Absolutely love this series! I really wondered how the narrator could read the story without cracking up - and then I listened to the outtakes at the end and realized he's hysterically laughing too!

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for victoria Evans
  • victoria Evans
  • 07-22-20

fantastic

Loved it beginning to end . The entire space team and deadman books are a sci fi fans must read or listen i found them randomly and couldn't stop reading/ listening until the last. Narrated perfectly by Phil Throm .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DJCurno
  • DJCurno
  • 02-20-19

Space team universe

Not a good idea listening to or reading this when you have badly bruised or cracked ribs!! The laughing just hurts and is uncontrollable at points

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Simon, Oxford
  • Simon, Oxford
  • 02-13-19

More please Mr Hutchison

I have just finished the last in the Dan Deadman series listening to them back-to-back. I never want it to stop. The wonderful combination of characters from the imagination of the author brought vividly to life by Phil Thron are perfect. I hope you will write and perform more.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 01-23-19

Love the whole series!

Really good books. Love the characters, the narrator is brilliant and Arter is just hilarious! All the Space Team books and Deadman spin offs are Fab x

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Archive of Avalon
  • Archive of Avalon
  • 11-26-18

Love Barry's work!

Barry J Hutchinson has become my favourite fonking author. And his books are made even better in narration. I can't wait for his latest works to be read by Pill.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for wolfie15
  • wolfie15
  • 11-19-18

simply brill

what can I say but amazing as ever has me in stitches and the cut outs at the end are just as good.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 05-04-20

More, More

I am really enjoying this series. I'm hoping this is not the last title just for Deadman. The stories are darkly humorous and reality objective. Love them.