Your audiobook is waiting…

Dead God's Due

Sins of the Fathers, Book 1
Narrated by: Ralph Lister
Series: Sins of the Fathers, Book 1
Length: 10 hrs and 34 mins
4 out of 5 stars (36 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The end of the world approaches. The people don't believe. They don't even remember.

Yazid Valerion is alone with the truth, but his warnings fall on deaf ears. His people are far more concerned about the wars of today and tomorrow than those of the past. 

Eons ago, the Dead God promised a world of ash, and the time of that prophecy is now at hand. His only hope is to cross the sea with his few followers in search of ancient enemies, the Meites, and pray he can sway them to his cause. But the Meites are no mere mortals; they are powerful sorcerers prone to outbursts of destructive terror. Even if he can find them, there's no guarantee they won't slaughter him and his men upon first sight. 

Perhaps there is no way to change the prophesy of a god. If not, then Yazid will die well. For a warrior knows, it is better to die fighting than trembling in fear of the final blow. 

The battle to save the world begins in Book 1 of a series perfect for fans of Marc Alan Edelheit, Bryce O'Connor, and Frank Miller's 300.

©2019 Aethon Books (P)2019 Blue Heron Audio

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This... is... Xanthia!

Dang, this book hit hard and fast and kept me down for the count. I didn’t know I wanted an epic fantasy about a Roman/spartan analog. I didn’t know how much I missed 300. Now I want more and I’m thrilled book two is shortly on its way.

This Gilbert dude can write. And Ralph Lister is easily one of the best narrators out there.

Kudos and bring on the battle!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Entrancing! If 300 & GoT had a baby. ;)

A powerful start to a new fantasy series! I loved it: a captivating tale chock full of sorcerers, dark prophecies, battles and intrigue! It also puts no small emphasis on making the anti-hero the protagonist. You'll likely be surprised at how it turns out. In addition, Matthew has a crisp, vivid style of writing and wonderful knack for weaving characters into his world-building. With Ralph Lister reading, it fells like I'm listening to an epic roman-medieval yarn told by a bard in the town's finest tavern. Will definitely read book 2!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Promising Start to a New Series

This title is a promising start to a Middle-Eastern themed fantasy with touches of political intrigue, religion, drug abuse, and the graphic novel 300. Ralph Lister does a great job bringing everything together with his Narration. The characters are distinct and identifiable. I enjoyed it enough to where I am definitely going to be following up with the next volume in the future.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So. Good.

It starts off a bit blurry and a little difficult to grasp but there's a reason for this ;) Stick with it. You'll see.

I can't wait to get the next book in this series! The writing is fantastic, the characters are well fleshed out, and the narrator does them all justice.

All around, I highly recommend you give this one a listen.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Builds into a great story after a bit

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

TLDR; A bit hard to follow at first, there are a lot of character shifts. Being an American I had a hard time with some of the names at first, after those humps I really enjoyed the story.

This is a story of culture clashes and prophesied war. You follow a few characters and get their perspectives as things go on. The following of multiple characters was a bit difficult in this, I'm not sure why that is (maybe the names, not being English, maybe too much going on right from the start). Whatever the case may be that cleared up a bit after the book went on. By the end of the book, I was really enjoying the story and how things were progressing, I'm looking forward to getting the rest of this story,

Overall, if you're looking for something with backstabbing, war, politics, and magic this is probably going to hit that spot.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Wonderfully detailed excursion into religion

The woes and wars put forth in the name of gods are shown in their full glory and failures. This highly detailed excursion into what's right/moral and corrupt is put on blast with this initial entry into the series. I"m really looking forward to seeing how this plays out as the twists and turns will be epic.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So, so good!

Dead Gods do is a great read. From Akmead to his teacher Zantheise, the family of The house of Arrowrath and everyone else are flushed out, well defined characters. The author did a great job putting the reader in the time and places he writes about. I thought this was a fun and very intelligent read. I love this book I was so enthralled with the characters and situations I couldn’t stop listening. This was a great book! The narrator did a wonderful job I was happy to give it five stars it would’ve given it more if I could.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I liked it

I choose to listen to this book while trying to complete assembly of a bed in hopes of pairing the pleasant with unpleasant. Book is completed, bed about 85%.
I kept stopping assembly and just enjoying the book.
The story is such a unique pairing of a fantasy genre I thought I was familar and an action comic book. Does that make sense to anyone, besides me?
The story has turns to keep you interested. Character development is good. Action and violence in spades. Narration is fantastic. An ending that makes you want to grab the next book in the series.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Better than expected!

A squabbling never ending vendetta like story. God I hated Kariana but I have to commend the political problems, the toxicity of her relationships, and the complexity of her drug abuses. Overall, its a unique story and I enjoyed listening to this. The ten hours blazed through like nothing. In the beginning it was hard to keep track of all the numerous point of views and characters, but it was easy to get familiarized about 20 percent into the story. Would recommend.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great start

Absolutely fantastic start to what is obviously intended as a series of books. I really enjoyed the writing from start to finish. The characters are interesting and well written and I love the politics of the world. Ralph Lister did an excellent job narrating and I think his voice and style is very well suited to these kind of epic/fantastic tales.

I loved this book from start to finish and can't wait to pick up the next one when it comes out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful