1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.47

Buy for $31.47

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A debut thriller for fans of Lucy Foley and Liz Moore, Dark Things I Adore is a stunning Gone Girl-esque tale of atonement that proves that in the grasp of manipulative men, women may momentarily fall. But in the hands of fierce women, men will be brought to their knees.

Three campfire secrets. Two witnesses. One dead in the trees. And the woman, 30 years later, bent on making the guilty finally pay.

The year 1988. A group of outcasts gather at a small prestigious arts camp nestled in the Maine woods. They’re the painters: bright, hopeful, teeming with potential. But secrets and dark ambitions rise like smoke from a campfire, and the truths they tell will come back to haunt them in ways more deadly than they dreamed.

The year 2018. Esteemed art professor Max Durant arrives at his protégé’s remote home to view her graduate thesis collection. He knows Audra is beautiful and brilliant. He knows being invited into her private world is a rare gift. But he doesn't know that Audra has engineered every aspect of their weekend together. Every detail, every conversation. Audra has woven the perfect web.

Only Audra knows what happened that summer in 1988. Max’s secret, and the dark things that followed. And even though it won’t be easy, Audra knows someone must pay.

A searing psychological thriller of trauma, dark academia, complicity, and revenge, Dark Things I Adore unravels the realities behind campfire legends - the horrors that happen in the dark, the girls who become cautionary tales, and the guilty who go unpunished. Until now.

©2021 Katie Lattari (P)2021 Blackstone Publishing

What listeners say about Dark Things I Adore

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    39
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful, Ugly, Dark & Deep

Wow… This is truly an artistic, clever literary work of fictional art. I am giving it only 4 stars overall because it took me soooo long to get into it. It’s so slow, serious, deep, poetic and dark that I won’t be able read or listen to another one like this for a while.

I have a huge girl crush on Nicol Zanzarella, so as usual, she kept me in the game when I might have given up. It was worth it.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good contemporary horror

found this to be a good contemporary twist on a horror story, and found the narration to be excellent

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best Crime-Noncrime Story of the Moment

It is also a thriller-non thriller, a mystery at its best. The story is well woven, intricate, layered, with its own rhythm. Each psychological detail is nakedly bare. The art theme is unmistakable. Follow it and every piece will fall in exact place right to the very end. Not a book for skip and skim reading. Narrators' perfomance is superb.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intriguing plot.

The book started out very slow in my opinion, but once it got going, it was very good.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Dark things indeed!

This is a mind blowing novel ! Just when you think all has been explained and all is well … snick snick snick snick !

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WHAT?!

Oh my goodness. This book keeps you on your toes the entire time. What you think is going to happen? Forget that. Literally so many twists and turns. I began to question who we could and couldn’t trust. I finished this book so quickly and immediately felt the need to recommend it to everyone. Definitely recommend if you like murder mysteries/ true crime!!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not What I Expected

I saw so much good reviews and positive promotion as must read for this book. I was disappointed in the story.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A promising but overlong debut thriller

I wish I had something new and insightful to say about Dark Things I Adore, but I am pretty much joining the choir of previous reviewers. The author, Katie Lattari, is going to be one to watch in the future. She shows a lot of talent. She is a gifted wordsmith, and if this were a shorter and tighter story, Dark Things I Adore would have worked for me. I love a good cat-and-mouse story.

However, as others have said, this story is overly long, especially because you figure out who the key players are and where it is going pretty early on. Max is a frustrating character. He is a smart academic, but boy did he fail to pick up on all the major red flags being thrown his way. When he does begin to truly suspect something rotten in Denmark, so to speak, he just keeps going along with everything like a dupe. Our lead in the modern narrative, Audra, blames what happened to her mother on everyone but the person who is most to blame for the event. I understand that it might have been one of her blindsides, but I did not really get her attachment to her mom, given how little time she spent with her mom.

The scenes at camp went on and on and should have been a much shorter portion of the story. Plus, some of the transitions from past to present were jarring. I understand the need for the flashbacks, but there could have been less of them, as the flashbacks took us out of the current and more interesting story.

Overall, I am looking forward to seeing what Katie Lattari writes next, but I just hope that she cuts down on the flowery language and lets a fair but brutal editor take a look at her next work. Dark Things I Adore could have been at least an hour or so shorter.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I couldn't stop listening!!!

Loved It!! I couldn't stop listening. the twists and turns were amazing. the descriptions were very well thought out and visible in my mind.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Tense and beautiful, not a Mystery

I think most readers will see the climatic finish coming from miles away. Yet the way the story is told compelled me and I felt the tension of the plot right up to the end. The use of descriptions of the thesis project art pieces and found objects incorporated annoyed me at first because it seemed long and detailed and puzzling (especially for an audio version of the book) as to the relevance to the story. Then after a few of these I saw how the writer used the images and found objects to fill in so many blanks. Before that Eureka it felt like the description of the boat measurements in Moby Dick. (But just a few minutes at a time to start chapters, so I exaggerate.)

This is not a mystery novel. It is a plunge into trauma, its causes and ever rippling effects. You can’t look away (even as work and chores and other routines beckon.)