• Counterfeit Love

  • Hidden Hearts of the Gilded Age, Book 1
  • By: Crystal Caudill
  • Narrated by: Stephanie Cozart
  • Length: 11 hrs and 40 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (12 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Counterfeit Love  By  cover art

Counterfeit Love

By: Crystal Caudill
Narrated by: Stephanie Cozart
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $27.99

Buy for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Can this undercover agent save the woman he loves - or is her heart as counterfeit as the money he's been sent to track down?  

After all that Grandfather has sacrificed to raise her, Theresa Plane owes it to him to save the family name - and that means clearing their debt with creditors before she marries Edward Greystone. But when one of the creditors' threats leads her to stumble across a midnight meeting, she discovers that the money he owes isn't all Grandfather was hiding. And the secrets he kept have now trapped Theresa in a life-threatening fight for her home - and the truth.  

After months of undercover work, Secret Service operative Broderick Cosgrove is finally about to uncover the identity of the leader of a notorious counterfeiting ring. That moment of triumph turns to horror, however, when he finds undeniable proof that his former fiancée is connected. Can he really believe the woman he loved is a willing participant? Protecting Theresa and proving her innocence may destroy his career - but that's better than failing her twice in one lifetime.  

They must form a partnership, tentative though it is. But there's no question they're both still keeping secrets - and that lack of trust, along with the dangerous criminals out for their blood, threatens their hearts, their faith, and their very survival.  

Combining rich history, danger, suspense, and romance, Crystal Caudill's debut novel launches this new historical series with a bang. Fans of Elizabeth Camden, Michelle Griep, and Joanna Davidson Politano will be thrilled to find another author to follow!

©2022 Crystal Caudill (P)2022 Recorded Books

What listeners say about Counterfeit Love

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t finish

This book is boring, and the narrator is too bright and chipper. The story just diesn’t engage the reader.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

This was an excellent story by a new to me author. I enjoyed listening to it, the narration was just right. I liked getting to know the characters and it had an interesting plot. I will be looking for more books by this author!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Debut With a Little Bit of Everything

If you like your books with some mystery, history, action, and swoony romance, then you need to grab a copy of Counterfeit Love by Crystal Caudill today.

This Gilded-Age romance is full of wonderful characters you will root for, plenty of bad guys you want to see justice served to, and a second chance romance you won’t soon forget. Caudill delivers a well-paced romance in the middle of intrigue and an interesting look into the secret service and counterfeiting.

The faith element is not forced but woven into the plot so well, you can’t help but know it’s the fabric of Teresa’s and Broderick’s lives. The author hits all the targets in her debut novel, and I can’t wait for more.

The narration of the audiobook is also excellent with no over-the-top voice adjustments for the characters. I always knew whose head we were in at any given point while listening.


Disclosure statement: I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book and was not required to write a positive review. All opinions are my own.