Your audiobook is waiting…

City of Flickering Light

Narrated by: Lisa Flanagan
Length: 11 hrs and 32 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical
4 out of 5 stars (10 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Juliette Fay - "one of the best authors of women's fiction" (Library Journal) - transports us back to the Golden Age of Hollywood and the raucous Roaring 20s, as three friends struggle to earn their places among the stars of the silent screen - perfect for fans of La La Land and Rules of Civility.

It's July 1921, "flickers" are all the rage, and Irene Van Beck has just declared her own independence by jumping off a moving train to escape her fate in a traveling burlesque show. When her friends, fellow dancer Millie Martin and comedian Henry Weiss, leap after her, the trio finds their way to the bright lights of Hollywood with hopes of making it big in the burgeoning silent film industry. 

At first glance, Hollywood in the 1920s is like no other place on earth - iridescent, scandalous, and utterly exhilarating - and the three friends yearn for a life they could only have dreamed of before. But despite the glamour and seduction of Tinseltown, success doesn't come easy, and nothing can prepare Irene, Millie, and Henry for the poverty, temptation, and heartbreak that lie ahead. With their ambitions challenged by both the men above them and the prejudice surrounding them, their friendship is the only constant through desperate times, as each struggles to find their true calling in an uncertain world. What begins as a quest for fame and fortune soon becomes a collective search for love, acceptance, and fulfillment as they navigate the backlots and stage sets where the illusions of the silver screen are brought to life.

With her "trademark wit and grace" (Randy Susan Meyers, author of The Murderer's Daughters), Juliette Fay crafts another radiant and fascinating historical novel as thrilling as the bygone era of Hollywood itself.

©2019 Juliette Fay (P)2019 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Read The Tumbling Turner Sisters instead

I've read all of Fay's books, and liked them all but The Tumbling Turner Sisters was so good that I read it twice. This one was good but certainly won't make it to my "read more than once" list.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

whole lotta meh

seems like a researcher/ historian wanted to showcase all their facts by scraping together a hokey plot based on well researched but poorly conceived 'characters.' writing clunky lotta 'had had' and 'had been going to'. i kept hoping the characters might attain depth...but its a nice polite assembly whose author's 'mores' and 'morals' reflect that of ya grandma who was born the year the action takes place. WAY better early hollywood novels to choose from. a miss

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

The "flickers"

I love movies and am fascinated by stories of Hollywood history, so this seemed like a sure thing; sorry, not so much. The Hollywood backdrop was good, but the story and characters were right out of a melodrama, with all conflicts neatly tied up at the end. Even the narrator couldn't make this better than a "B" movie.