adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $23.95

Buy for $23.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Winner of the Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction!

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika L. Sanchez, this gorgeously written and deeply moving own voices novel is the YA debut from the award-winning author of Inside Out & Back Again. Four starred reviews!

In the final days of the Việt Nam War, Hằng takes her little brother, Linh, to the airport, determined to find a way to safety in America. In a split second, Linh is ripped from her arms - and Hằng is left behind in the war-torn country.

Six years later, Hằng has made the brutal journey from Việt Nam and is now in Texas as a refugee. She doesn’t know how she will find the little brother who was taken from her until she meets LeeRoy, a city boy with big rodeo dreams, who decides to help her.

Hằng is overjoyed when she reunites with Linh. But when she realizes he doesn’t remember her, their family, or Việt Nam, her heart is crushed. Though the distance between them feels greater than ever, Hằng has come so far that she will do anything to bridge the gap.

©2019 Thanhha Lai (P)2019 HarperAudio

What listeners say about Butterfly Yellow

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An incredible novel and incredible performance

Butterfly Yellow is a gripping novel that is rich on details, describing the harrowing struggle for survival as Hằng tries to reconnect with her brother Linh. They have been a part for six years, and Hằng's unwavering determination to find Linh will keep readers on the edge of their seats. He's in America and has a new family. Hằng is the sister who sent him away from their home country of Viet Nam. What she endured to find him shows the power of the human spirit in the absolute worst conditions.
There are many things that make this an unforgettable novel. The Texas landscape and Thanhha's description make it bloom before your eyes. You'll feel the the unbreakable ties Hằng has with her family both in Texas and with those left behind in Viet Nam—neither death nor separation can break them. And then there's kind, thoughtful LeeRoy. He becomes the glue in the most unexpected way.

Filled with heart, heartbreak, beauty and hope, this novel explores the horrors of war, hate, family, friendship, and a sweet budding love story that will stay with readers long after the last page.

Highly recommend this audiobook!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sadness and Fear, Hard Work and Joy

A perilous journey brings surprises, danger and more emotions than one young girl can plan for. Entwined with it is the story of a young man off to meet his dreams. Family, memories, hard work, art and poetry all find their places in the gentle telling of this beautiful story. The reader adds her own lilt that ties a bow around it. I love this book.