adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Josie presses her hands into the center of the drowned girl’s chest and pumps, counting off compressions. She takes in the girl’s beautiful face, her brown eyes glassy. The memory of a champion swimmer on the podium with her teammates - a red swim cap on, her head thrown back in laughter - a stark contrast to the cold, still body before her. Breathe. Just breathe.... 

The body of a young girl lying face down in a swimming pool - white tennis shoes still on her feet, chestnut hair fanned out like a halo - is the last thing Detective Josie Quinn expects to find on an early morning visit to see her brother before class at Denton University. But when she recognizes the girl’s face as she drags her limp body from the water, there’s only one question racing through Josie’s mind: How does a champion swimmer accidentally drown? 

Nysa Somers’ family is distraught. She was a model student, beloved daughter, and everybody’s friend. There’s no way she would do anything reckless enough to put her scholarship at risk, let alone her life. It’s up to Josie and her team to piece together what happened in the hours leading up to Nysa’s death, and that begins with finding her missing backpack. 

But the bag, discarded in the woods on the nearby campus, contains nothing more than empty food wrappers, Nysa’s phone, and a cryptic calendar entry telling her to be a mermaid

The next day, a terrible housefire envelops the nearby home of a retired fireman, nearly killing his two granddaughters. The last words the little girls heard him mutter before he set the blaze were, be a match.  

As the body count rises, it’s only Josie who can see the deadly pattern forming. Can she convince her team that the wrapper found in Nysa’s bag that everyone overlooked is the crucial link they’re missing? Not while her partner, Noah, is avoiding her calls and acting so coldly towards her. Josie knows she must go it alone if she’s going to stop this silent and calculated serial killer before any more precious lives are taken. 

But with the killer finally in her sights, Josie takes a deadly risk and finds herself hanging onto life by her fingernails. Can she trust her team to save her, and before it’s too late? 

A totally gripping crime thriller from an Amazon, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal best-selling author. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni, and Rachel Caine.  

Listeners love Lisa Regan: 

"A brilliant twist.... It had me well and truly hooked.... A fantastic read!! I was captivated by the storyline right from the very first page and I couldn’t put the book down until I’d finished it.... The story twisted and turned.... I faced so many ‘what the hell’ moments as the action just kept coming!! Happily, I have to say I didn’t guess who was responsible and loved how it all cleverly fell into place! Each book of the series just keeps getting better!" (Stardust Book Reviews, five stars)

©2020 Lisa Regan (P)2020 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Breathe Your Last

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    418
  • 4 Stars
    83
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    385
  • 4 Stars
    65
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    388
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not Worth the time or credit !!!!

The story line is weak....the opening with a girl drowned in the pool goes on and on with no conclusion, the same with the grandfather who sets his house on fire.....why ?????.......and the cop who almost jumps off a roof ??????.......the premise that they all ingested "spiked brownies" .....how/why were they singled out ?????
Too much speculation....and what happened to Noah ????
Not a good listen .....

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Riveting!

This is one of my favorite series and I eagerly wait for each new chapter in Josie Quinn‘s life! This book was really fascinating and intriguing with a villain unlike any from her prior novels. From the very first victim of a highly skilled swimmer found drowned in her clothes to several other bizarre incidents, I could not stop listening to this book because I was just so puzzled as to what had happened to the victims. And of course there are always interesting sidelines with the regular cast of characters! Highly recommend and cannot wait until the next episode! Lisa always leaves you wanting much more! I also really enjoy the narration by Kate Handford.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not the best

Story moved to slow. Not a fan of this author or narrator. Maybe her other books are readable.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just Wow!!

Just Wow!
Time to be a Mermaid....
Time to be a Match....
Made me second guess eating brownies while reading this book. I promise you, you will never guess who-dun-it!! Trying to figure out what Noah was being so secretive about just about killed me. Very emotional!! The cliff hanger at the end, (pun intended)! Just Wow! Crazy good, hard to put down. You absolutely need to read this book!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Predictable and not even funny

For a “thriller” this was a disappointment. The plot is more than weak (I won’t spoil it, if you must experience it.) The character development inconsistent and superficial. A few interesting dialogue here and there, but the story never makes it past the initial high… to Peter out fast. Conclusions are drawn based on “hunches” and dubious FBI one-fits-all profiles (why not just Google it?) while the anemic story fabricates the most improbable circumstances to somehow come to a conclusion. One of the most forced plots I have come across lately. The valiant efforts to perform this can only slightly mitigate the feeling of a wasted audible credit.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

too many distractions

solid story but storyline has too many sidebars. Maybe it's a girl thing but they distract from the main story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

series is great!

I absolutely love this series! The books only get better and better. This is one of the best so far!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

LOVE JOSIE QUINN!!!

I read the reviews before I bought this book and now that I've completed it, I'm not understanding the negative reviews that it's received. I realize that everyone has an opinion and I consider myself highly critical in so many ways but this series is one of the best around. This book #10 didn't disappoint me in any way. I enjoyed it from start to finish and when Kate Handford took over in Book 4, she was definitely an asset. She's perfect for this series. I've already moved on to Book 11 and will be sorry when it's completed. I look forward to hopefully many more releases. If you are new to this series, start with Book 1 and grow with all the characters. It will not disappoint!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another winner!

I love this series!! I love that Josie is a normal character with flaws and insecurities, just like the rest of us...most of all, I live her doggedness! In this book, Detective Josie Quinn goes to visit her brother at his college and discovers the body of a swimmer in the pool. What appears to be an accidental drowning is so much more and Josie and her team are on the hunt for a killer. Another captivating story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous series

Lisa Regan just keeps on surprising. Her stories continue to captivate. She grows her characters and confounds her readers. Love this series!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs CJ
  • Mrs CJ
  • 09-05-21

Too many heroics

Oh why is the author turning Josie into a superhero? She tries to save a drowning girl, saves a kid from a burning house and performs more heroic feats in a few days than most people come across in a lifetime. And it’s all getting in the way of a very good plot. I like these characters but the heroics are just ridiculous.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr. S. M. Elliott
  • Mr. S. M. Elliott
  • 01-23-21

Another steady progression.

If you have read the previous books then you know what to expect. The steady progression and development of the characters flows on. The case is once again twisted and intricate.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fee
  • Fee
  • 12-15-20

Still enjoyable

Still interesting and entertaining enough for me to continue listening and/or reading the series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lizelle
  • Lizelle
  • 04-02-21

Another Excellent Book

Absolutely loved this book (the whole series actually). Can't wait for the next one to come out.