adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $29.65

Buy for $29.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Patti Smith's Just Kids and Rob Lowe's Stories I Only Tell My Friends will love this beautifully written, entertaining, and emotionally honest memoir by an actor, director, and author who found his start as an '80s Brat-Pack member.

Most people know Andrew McCarthy from his movie roles in Pretty in Pink, St. Elmo's Fire, Weekend at Bernie's, and Less Than Zero, and as a charter member of Hollywood's Brat Pack. That iconic group of ingenues and heartthrobs included Rob Lowe, Molly Ringwald, Emilio Estevez, and Demi Moore, and has come to represent both a genre of film and an era of pop culture. 

In his memoir Brat: An '80s Story, McCarthy focuses his gaze on that singular moment in time. The result is a revealing look at coming of age in a maelstrom, reckoning with conflicted ambition, innocence, addiction, and masculinity. New York City of the 1980s is brought to vivid life in this book, from scoring loose joints in Washington Square Park to skipping school in favor of the dark revival houses of the Village where he fell in love with the movies that would change his life. 

Filled with personal revelations of innocence lost to heady days in Hollywood with John Hughes and an iconic cast of characters, Brat is a surprising and intimate story of an outsider caught up in a most unwitting success.

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying PDF will be available in your Audible Library along with the audio.  

©2021 Andrew McCarthy (P)2021 Grand Central Publishing

Critic Reviews

"This is not some memoir written by an actor who fancies himself a world traveler. McCarthy really is a world traveler - and a damned fine writer, too.... To readers who think, "Andrew McCarthy? Really?" the answer is a resounding and emphatic yes. Really." (Booklist)

"Rarely have I seen the male psyche explored with such honesty and vulnerability. This is the story of a son, a father, a brother, a husband, a man who finds the courage not only to face himself, but to reveal himself, and, in so doing, illuminates something about what it is to be human, fully alive, and awake." (Dani Shapiro, author of Devotion)

What listeners say about Brat

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    101
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    83
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

As an introverted teenager in the 80’s, I was obsessed with Andrew, Molly, Jon, Judd, and Ali... and of course the movies they made. Andrew’s take on introversion and disassociating to mask insecurity was especially relatable and validated my own uncomfortable experiences, growing up shy, reserved, aloof, and unavailable. Thank you for that!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Appreciate the depth and vulnerability!

As a teen in the 80s, Andrew and his movies live on the outskirts of my fondest memories. Listening to his journey made me reflect on my own journey of growth and discovery. As he said, the movies now have a fond nostalgia about them. His eloquent sharing gave me an appreciation for his love of craft and the battles of personality mixed with fame. I’ve always been a fan, but even more so, today I am a fan of him as a man.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely LOVED this book!!

I loved this book so much I couldn’t stop listening from home to the car. The story told is far better than any name dropping backstage pass. My only complaint was that it was too short. I want to hear more!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Well-written and read. I’ve always been a fan of Andrew McCarthy, and this book did not disappoint. It brought back a lot of great memories. I highly recommend this for anyone who is a fan of 80s movies :)

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

From a Brat's point of view

A raw read on the journey of one of the 80s labeled Brat pac members. A well written and well delivered performance ( I was an audio listener). Mr. McCarthy highlights the very real impact of his life choices as a teen star and how he has found partial peace with that part of his life. It's written as if he wishes to acknowledge that time in his life but not allow that time to entirely define him..so he was a member of the Brat pac ( by unwitting default and his own admission). I'm certain after reading this - that there is more to Mr. McCarthy than the 80s and the stigma that came with it. I'm intrigued to read his Travel books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thank you Andrew

Thank you Andrew for writing this book and providing an inside peak into the movies that spoke to me while I was growing up.

And Molly was right... Andrew was the one a girl would fall for. I’m so glad she had a voice in the room that day.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Worth the listen or read

Phenomenally honest and feeling book. Loved it
Andrew McCarthy is a greet writer and tells his story w courage abs honesty.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listen!

Waited for this one after listening to both Rob Lowe books and it was worth it

Love that he reads his own story and someone else

Love his movies and glad he made it through all the tough times ❤️

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely loved it

Loved it! Andrew tells his story in a way that makes you feel like you've lived it with him.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lar

I loved Andrew McCarthy 's account of his 80's. Truthful, I expected nothing less.