We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Beer Money Audiobook

Beer Money: A Memoir of Privilege and Loss

Regular Price:$20.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Rich Cohen's Sweet and Low and Sean Wilsey's Oh the Glory of It All, a memoir of a city, an industry, and a dynasty in decline, and the story of a young artist's struggle to find her way out of the ruins.

Frances Stroh's earliest memories are ones of great privilege: shopping trips to London and New York, lunches served by black-tied waiters at the Regency Hotel, and a house filled with precious antiques, which she was forbidden to touch. Established in Detroit in 1850, by 1984 the Stroh Brewing Company had become the largest private beer fortune in America and a brand emblematic of the American dream itself; while Stroh was coming of age, the Stroh family fortune was estimated to be worth $700 million.

But behind the beautiful façade lay a crumbling foundation. Detroit's economy collapsed with the retreat of the automotive industry to the suburbs and abroad, and the Stroh family found their wealth and legacy disappearing. As their fortune dissolved in a little over a decade, the family was torn apart internally by divorce and one family member's drug bust; disagreements over the management of the business; and disputes over the remaining money they possessed. Even as they turned against one another, looking for a scapegoat on whom to blame the unraveling of their family, they could not anticipate that even far greater tragedy lay in store.

Stroh's memoir is elegantly spare in structure and mercilessly clear-eyed in its self-appraisal - at once a universally relatable family drama and a great American story.

©2016 Frances Stroh (P)2016 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (155 )
5 star
 (60)
4 star
 (47)
3 star
 (33)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
3.9 (140 )
5 star
 (56)
4 star
 (41)
3 star
 (27)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (8)
Story
4.2 (141 )
5 star
 (60)
4 star
 (59)
3 star
 (13)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    barbara 08-07-16
    barbara 08-07-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Memoire but no real look at the wealth"

    This book seemed to be a cathartic story for the author but not as interesting as I thought it would be. A sad family. She is a lovely person and the performance was very good.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joe Hampton 05-10-16
    Joe Hampton 05-10-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    28
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    101
    49
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Detroit truths"

    Wow France's - you are quite an author.
    I am from the Detroit area so I really get this book. I am from France's generations so I really get her. While I remember hearing the story of the strohs demise I never realized the lives it impacted. Francis Stroh is a beautiful soul and true kind survivor. I've always said inherited money is 50% blessing and 50% curse, this book proved that. I
    really enjoyed her story and her writing and will certainly look for more work from her. God bless you and the Stroh family.

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sam Kentucky 05-21-16
    Sam Kentucky 05-21-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Somewhat interesting"

    I chose this book based on another high review and I was disappointed. While I give the author credit for sharing candidly her life, both the good memories and the difficult, I found after awhile it seemed like whining (not necessarily all by her, but through her) without a point or plot. The writing was at times above average and at times forced; the outline flowing in places and messy or lost in others.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Barbara H. Handler Knoxville, TN 03-13-17
    Barbara H. Handler Knoxville, TN 03-13-17 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Stroll along Stroh avenue"

    I really miss the ice cream more than the beer. What a sad story of a rich distinction all family!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David J Pickens 05-22-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "very interesting never knew the story"

    I had no idea of what happened to the family, very interesting. worth reading

    5 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Richard E. Putt Jr. Cincinnati Ohio 05-22-16
    Richard E. Putt Jr. Cincinnati Ohio 05-22-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beer boring"
    This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

    Someone who has no life


    Would you ever listen to anything by Frances Stroh again?

    no chance


    Have you listened to any of Erin Bennett’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    She is excellent


    What character would you cut from Beer Money?

    The writer.


    Any additional comments?

    The story covers a mundane life of an unaccomplished artist. I was hoping to have some insight into the saga of the Strohs company, but it was so superficial while focusing on Frances Stroh's unremarkable life experiences.

    6 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Screwcap Lake Geneva 08-31-16
    Screwcap Lake Geneva 08-31-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great review of a true family"

    Amazingly honest portrayal of the B family through the tough times. Not a super up lifting story or one of redemption but an honest look at the decline of an American family's fortune

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    33 year old lawyer 08-06-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "rich but dreading the downfall"

    enjoyed hearing about a life that was so dissimilar to my family's in wealth but somewhat similar in its dysfunction! alcoholism and drug abuse, second marriages causing squandering of assets, people who cannot live frugally, an inability to stop a family business from sliding into oblivion...

    also interesting for people interested in detroit, michigan, and the decline of american industry and companies.

    my only real complaint is that I did not understand how much money she had. enough to be in a country club and have private schools but it was unclear to me if the family had a million in assets, ten million, a hundred million..

    I enjoyed the parts where she tried to be more technical about Stroh's financial decline. I think even more detail on this would have been interesting....

    I also recommend the memoir by the daughter of hoarders. kim someone. far superior to celebrity ones.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Patricia A. Moriarty 07-12-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Semi interesting memoir."

    As a Detroiter I was anxious to read about Ms. Stroh's recollections of the years of her youth. Her observations seemed to be gleaned from some magazine article about the rise and fall of a once great city. I was disappointed.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    amy simon 11-17-17
    amy simon 11-17-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story about a Detroit icon"

    I found this book very entertaining and would highly recommend it, especially to a fan of beer. I have also read the book Dethroning the King, about Anheuser Busch. It is unbelievable how big companies like Stroh’s and AB could fail but when you hear the stories, you get a better understanding of how the companies went into their tailspin.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.