Regular price: $20.97

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Rich Cohen's Sweet and Low and Sean Wilsey's Oh the Glory of It All, a memoir of a city, an industry, and a dynasty in decline, and the story of a young artist's struggle to find her way out of the ruins.

Frances Stroh's earliest memories are ones of great privilege: shopping trips to London and New York, lunches served by black-tied waiters at the Regency Hotel, and a house filled with precious antiques, which she was forbidden to touch. Established in Detroit in 1850, by 1984 the Stroh Brewing Company had become the largest private beer fortune in America and a brand emblematic of the American dream itself; while Stroh was coming of age, the Stroh family fortune was estimated to be worth $700 million.

But behind the beautiful façade lay a crumbling foundation. Detroit's economy collapsed with the retreat of the automotive industry to the suburbs and abroad, and the Stroh family found their wealth and legacy disappearing. As their fortune dissolved in a little over a decade, the family was torn apart internally by divorce and one family member's drug bust; disagreements over the management of the business; and disputes over the remaining money they possessed. Even as they turned against one another, looking for a scapegoat on whom to blame the unraveling of their family, they could not anticipate that even far greater tragedy lay in store.

Stroh's memoir is elegantly spare in structure and mercilessly clear-eyed in its self-appraisal - at once a universally relatable family drama and a great American story.

©2016 Frances Stroh (P)2016 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    61
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    5

Performance

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    62
  • 4 Stars
    59
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 3.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    8
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Memoire but no real look at the wealth

This book seemed to be a cathartic story for the author but not as interesting as I thought it would be. A sad family. She is a lovely person and the performance was very good.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Detroit truths

Wow France's - you are quite an author.
I am from the Detroit area so I really get this book. I am from France's generations so I really get her. While I remember hearing the story of the strohs demise I never realized the lives it impacted. Francis Stroh is a beautiful soul and true kind survivor. I've always said inherited money is 50% blessing and 50% curse, this book proved that. I
really enjoyed her story and her writing and will certainly look for more work from her. God bless you and the Stroh family.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Sam
  • Kentucky
  • 05-21-16

Somewhat interesting

I chose this book based on another high review and I was disappointed. While I give the author credit for sharing candidly her life, both the good memories and the difficult, I found after awhile it seemed like whining (not necessarily all by her, but through her) without a point or plot. The writing was at times above average and at times forced; the outline flowing in places and messy or lost in others.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Reflective

The story just really struck a chord in me. I am passing it on to others.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Stroll along Stroh avenue

I really miss the ice cream more than the beer. What a sad story of a rich distinction all family!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

very interesting never knew the story

I had no idea of what happened to the family, very interesting. worth reading

5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Beer boring

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

Someone who has no life

Would you ever listen to anything by Frances Stroh again?

no chance

Have you listened to any of Erin Bennett’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

She is excellent

What character would you cut from Beer Money?

The writer.

Any additional comments?

The story covers a mundane life of an unaccomplished artist. I was hoping to have some insight into the saga of the Strohs company, but it was so superficial while focusing on Frances Stroh's unremarkable life experiences.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great review of a true family

Amazingly honest portrayal of the B family through the tough times. Not a super up lifting story or one of redemption but an honest look at the decline of an American family's fortune

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

rich but dreading the downfall

enjoyed hearing about a life that was so dissimilar to my family's in wealth but somewhat similar in its dysfunction! alcoholism and drug abuse, second marriages causing squandering of assets, people who cannot live frugally, an inability to stop a family business from sliding into oblivion...

also interesting for people interested in detroit, michigan, and the decline of american industry and companies.

my only real complaint is that I did not understand how much money she had. enough to be in a country club and have private schools but it was unclear to me if the family had a million in assets, ten million, a hundred million..

I enjoyed the parts where she tried to be more technical about Stroh's financial decline. I think even more detail on this would have been interesting....

I also recommend the memoir by the daughter of hoarders. kim someone. far superior to celebrity ones.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Semi interesting memoir.

As a Detroiter I was anxious to read about Ms. Stroh's recollections of the years of her youth. Her observations seemed to be gleaned from some magazine article about the rise and fall of a once great city. I was disappointed.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful