Binge Killer

Narrated by: Susan Marlowe
Length: 10 hrs and 32 mins
4 out of 5 stars (13 ratings)

Audible membership

$14.95 a month

Free with a 30-day trial
1 audiobook of your choice.
A monthly selection of Audible Originals.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A female bounty hunter tracks a serial killer to a rural mountain town.

A town with its own dark secret...

After serial killer Randall Burton is diagnosed with a terminal disease, he decides to jump bail and go out in a blaze of glory.

One woman stands in his way.

Her name is Counsel Fungo, and she’s an exceptionally talented bounty hunter, if a little eccentric. Officially, her two canine companions are therapy dogs. But she considers them partners. Counsel will do anything to stop criminals from preying on the vulnerable, and she’s intent on stopping Randall Burton.

Randall’s trail leads to sleepy Rancor, Pennsylvania. Named one of the safest towns in America, it’s a quiet town tucked away in the Poconos. Its citizens are mostly widowers, bowlers, and bingo players.

But there’s a reason no one in Rancor has reported a major crime in the past 50 years.

And neither Counsel nor the killer are quite ready for what this town has in store....

Chris Bauer pens a gripping thriller filled with dark humor and clever twists. Recommended for fans of Stephen King and Elmore Leonard.

©2019 Chris Bauer (P)2020 Severn River Publishing

What listeners say about Binge Killer

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a pleasant surprise!

Great book, not your usual serial killer book.
Relatable characters with some real life imperfections thrown in. My boss has a nephew with Tourette’s - he is extremely intelligent and has a great career. I’m so glad to have a writer incorporate this condition into an exceptionally well written book.
Lovable characters and good story line. Will listen to more this author has written!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book!

This was a well thought out engrossing listen. This was a new author to me and I will definitely listen to more of their books.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • tj
  • 05-01-20

First and last book by Chris Bauer

First, another stunning performance by Susan Marlow. If not for her narration, I don’t know if I would have completed the book.
The storyline was ok, Bauer’s use of description was awesome. He just used it on describing the subjects penis over and over. Perhaps if there had been more history of why the fugitive was so notorious, the reader would understand more about him. As it is, the story seems to play out over a few days. In that time there is murder , but the story line is about his penis always! The book ends with issues about his penis!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Melanie Preston Lewis
  • Melanie Preston Lewis
  • 07-09-20

Brilliant

A thoroughly enjoyable roller coaster of a ride. The villain is suitably repugnant. The hero is thoroughly divine. I adored the element of the elderly vigilantes. A great audio book that I'm thrilled to recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for miss
  • miss
  • 05-11-20

wow

what a fantastic audiobook, I love it from start to finish. well written by Chris Bauer and narrated by Susan Marlowe xxxx

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andy Boyle
  • Andy Boyle
  • 05-07-20

An excellent thriller with an intriguing heroine.

I really enjoyed this one. I don't want to give any of the story away, so I'll keep this a bit general. The bad guy was very bad, the good guys where good but not perfect and the whole thing was just great fun. The whole thing could have gone badly off the rails if it had been written for laughs (and it could have been), the humour, although never far from the surface, is kept from overpowering the story, and there is a definite undercurrent of menace running alongside.
The narrator was really good, and managed the various parts well.
Overall, I'd happily come back to the story of Council Fungo and her deputies.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for anne
  • anne
  • 04-23-20

Exciting, nonstop thriller.

An exciting rollercoaster of a story about our new favourite heroine. Counsel Fungo, a bounty hunter with a hard shell, a soft centre and a troublesome condition, or two, that causes her extreme embarrassment and some hilarity. Oh and two canine partners.
As she sets off on her latest case she finds things she never expected to. A “perp” who is much much worse than she imagined, a lovely town with a dark secret and someone she can trust in ways she didn’t think she ever would.
The kaleidoscope of characters are very well drawn and refreshingly not all perfect and glamorous. They cover all age ranges, some healthy, some not, they have flaws and make mistakes, but best of all their actions make you stop and think, do you follow the rules, or make your own?
Be prepared for some twists and turns and an astonishing finale! With some explicit language, dark humour and darker events it’s not a book for everyone, but I loved it !

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helen
  • Helen
  • 04-15-20

Great book

I Enjoyed this audio book very much
Hopefully they will be more audio books
Must read on your list

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Linda
  • Linda
  • 03-27-20

Great crime thriller!

I listened to this book right the way through in one go. It was intelligently written and I learnt a little about Tourettes. Recommended!