adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $14.95

Buy for $14.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Fans of James Patterson, Nelson DeMille, Stieg Larsson, and Gillian Flynn will love this exciting new thriller from bestselling author Jack Patterson!

When NFL star running back Aaron Banks winds up dead in an abandoned warehouse, San Francisco newspaper reporter Cal Murphy begins an investigation that unearths secrets that are best left alone. Joined by fellow journalist Kelly Mendoza, Cal ventures into a world rife with conspiracies, butting heads with powerful people and putting a bulls-eye on his own chest. But with time running out to expose the truth, Cal must weigh if the story is worth his life - and if he has what it takes to topple the most powerful man in Southern California.

©2013 Jack Patterson (P)2013 Green E-Books, LLC

What listeners say about Better Off Dead

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent

NFL Aaron Banks has died. Cal Murphy is a reporter and wants the story and questions answered. The secrets of why in a warehouse. As with the power that is in football he is butting heads with the powers behind it. Good series and good narration. Given audio for my voluntary review

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Narrator just so so

How could the performance have been better?

The narrator could have put a little more feeling into his reading. The tone was kind of monotone.