1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $14.95

Buy for $14.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Fans of James Patterson, Nelson DeMille, Stieg Larsson, and Gillian Flynn will love this exciting new thriller from bestselling author Jack Patterson!

When NFL star running back Aaron Banks winds up dead in an abandoned warehouse, San Francisco newspaper reporter Cal Murphy begins an investigation that unearths secrets that are best left alone. Joined by fellow journalist Kelly Mendoza, Cal ventures into a world rife with conspiracies, butting heads with powerful people and putting a bulls-eye on his own chest. But with time running out to expose the truth, Cal must weigh if the story is worth his life - and if he has what it takes to topple the most powerful man in Southern California.

©2013 Jack Patterson (P)2013 Green E-Books, LLC

What listeners say about Better Off Dead

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sports and murder


A behind-the-scenes look at sports, corruption, and murder.

Bill Cooper did a good job narrating.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome audio book

I was lucky enough to have gotten a free audio book code from the author. I am volunteering to leave this review. Awesome audio book plenty of action and suspense.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent

NFL Aaron Banks has died. Cal Murphy is a reporter and wants the story and questions answered. The secrets of why in a warehouse. As with the power that is in football he is butting heads with the powers behind it. Good series and good narration. Given audio for my voluntary review

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Narrator just so so

How could the performance have been better?

The narrator could have put a little more feeling into his reading. The tone was kind of monotone.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julie
  • Julie
  • 10-09-21

Whistle blowing

This is an interesting listen full of twists and not to many football references. I liked the characters, especially the dead man and what he stood or tried to do. I also like the two main characters and it was nice to see to them develop from the last book.There is a lot of characters as there seems to be two plot lines running throughout the book, which kept you guessing over the motive behind the murder but in the end it comes together nicely and the killer gets his comeuppance.
When a NFL super star Aaron Banks is found dead nobody is sure why? Drug overdose? Suicide over the fact he was going to be cut from the team and game he loved? Or murder because he wouldn't stay quite any long? His mother and the children in the hospital he visits every week can't believe he was involved in drugs. A whistle blower who works for a hi-tec company developing head gear for the sport comes up with another reason and will only talk to sports reporter Cal Murphy. The problem is someone rich and in charge wants the story brushed under the rug and will stop at nothing to make sure the story and murder stayed buried. Will the whistle blower do the right thing when pressure is applied? And what about Cal how far will be to to get his story back on the front page and find a killer?
I liked the narrator he helped to build the tension and make the story come alive.
I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.