Regular price: $21.31

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Your sister needs you. But her child needs you more....

Before I Let You Go, the stunning new novel from Kelly Rimmer, the best-selling author of Me Without You, When I Lost You and The Secret Daughter, has a heartpounding dilemma at its centre: your sister or her baby. Who do you choose?

Fans of Jodi Picoult, Amanda Prowse and Diane Chamberlain will love Kelly Rimmer.

As children, Lexie and Annie were incredibly close. Bonded by the death of their beloved father and their mother's swift remarriage, they weathered the storms of life together. When Lexie leaves home to follow her dream, Annie is forced to turn to her leather-bound journal as the only place she can confide her deepest secrets and fears.

As adults, sisters Lexie and Annie could not be more different. Lexie is a doctor, successful in her practice and happily engaged. Annie is addicted to heroin - a thief, a liar, and unable to remain clean despite the fact that she is pregnant. When Annie's newborn baby is in danger of being placed in foster care, Annie picks up the phone to beg her sister for help. Will Lexie agree to help and take in her young niece? And how will Annie survive, losing the only thing in her life worth living for?

©2018 Kelly Rimmer (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Limited

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved every part of this book

Would you listen to Before I Let You Go again? Why?

yes, it touched me deep, and after a while I will listen again. This book touched me very deep

Who was your favorite character and why?

Annie, it could have been me.

What does Amy Landon and Vanessa Johansson bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

The emotion they bring in

If you could rename Before I Let You Go, what would you call it?

no I will not rename, I thing the name is spot on

Any additional comments?

Bring us more please

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KLP
  • 04-22-18

worth listening to. worth thinking about

this is a weĺl written book which makes you listen, makes you think, and makes you value what you have in life

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • R. Tyers
  • 04-11-18

Amazing story

The narration is slightly annoying but the story is amazing and gripping! Tears and sharp intakes if breath! Enjoy!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Lu
  • 03-20-18

Complexity of love & torment exquisitely observed

This is a very honest, raw and accurate look at how addiction can manifest and and the repurcussions it can have upon the person with the addictive behaviour, but also their family & wider community. I like how the characters are used to question systems set in place by authorities and their ethics and worth.
It does not throw moral and political or social attitudes around lightly or without respect. Choices made and paths taken by characters are explored with sensitivity and the complexity they deserve.

This said, it is not blatant in it's effort to throw up questions about values and treatments, opinions and consequences. The main point is the story of a relationship between two sisters and their differing experience and memory of their past. I related very much to the passion and strength of love captured between the sisters and the way that bond can be beautiful,painful, intertwining and unbreakable.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • K
  • 03-15-18

A bit disappointing

I enjoyed previous books by Kelly Rimmer more. This seemed a bit shallow and non-believable. I couldn’t warm to the characters and their relationships lacked depth and believability. It was a bit lightweight for my liking.
The narrator of most of the story was a bit sing-songy and it wasn’t credible for me. It was almost patronising. I found the dialogue and men’s voices particularly frustrating and often the narrator used a deep voice to say Lexi, as though trying to be sultry and it grated on me a bit.