Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.49

Buy for $24.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

CIA analyst Layla Karam is thrust into a dangerous DEA field operation against a cartel that puts a target on her back. Though Layla never wanted to be a field agent, Langley had other ideas. After one of her team members is murdered because of fallout from the op, Layla is left scrambling to find safety.  

At the same time, the CIA opens up an internal investigation against her. Out of options, Layla turns to ex-boyfriend and private investigator Hunter McCoy for help finding out who might want to ruin her career.  

Layla and Hunter soon discover a mole inside the DEA has sold out the team's identity to the cartel. She must clear her name with the Agency and protect herself and her teammates from cartel retaliation. With threats on all sides, Layla must put her trust in Hunter - the man who broke her heart - and hope they both come out of it alive.

©2020 Rachel Dylan (P)2020 Recorded Books, Inc.

What listeners say about Backlash

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story!

Very good story. Love the narrator’s voice. Clean fiction with no bad language or sexual content . Has a lot of christian content in the storyline which I love !

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Smart and Suspenseful

Rachel Dylan’s books are full of intelligent characters, lifelong friendships, ensemble casts, and multi-layered plots with plenty of twists and surprises along the way. Backlash (book two in the Capital Intrigue series) is no exception.

While Dylan’s experience as a lawyer is evident in the details, she also delves into government agencies such as the CIA and DEA. And all of it makes for a fast-paced, entertaining read that is hard to put down.

The balance between suspense, action, romance, and faith is precise, and while there’s a lot going on with multiple investigations and questions, the storyline never got confusing or convoluted.

Fans of authors like Dani Pettrey, Lynette Eason, and Susan May Warren who have multiple points of view and layered plots will enjoy Backlash.

1 person found this helpful