Augustus

Narrated by: Robin Field
Length: 14 hrs and 16 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (200 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A brilliant and beautifully written novel in the tradition of Robert Graves’ I, Claudius, Augustus is a sweeping narrative that brings vividly to life a compelling cast of historical figures through their letters, dispatches, and memoirs.

A mere 18 years of age when his uncle, Julius Caesar, is murdered, Octavius Caesar prematurely inherits rule of the Roman Republic. Surrounded by men who are jockeying for power—Cicero, Brutus, Cassius, and Mark Antony—young Octavius must work against the powerful Roman political machinations to claim his destiny as first Roman emperor.

Sprung from meticulous research and the pen of a true poet, Augustus tells the story of one man’s dream to liberate a corrupt Rome from the fancy of the capriciously crooked and the wildly wealthy.

©1972 John Williams; 1995 by Nancy Williams (P)2011 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

Critic Reviews

Augustus is a masterpiece.” ( Los Angeles Times)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    107
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    93
  • 4 Stars
    55
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    99
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent book, weak reading

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

This is one of the best Historical fiction I have ever read

What did you like best about this story?

Great writing, and its organization as a set of letters is brilliant.

What about Robin Field’s performance did you like?

He is trying to change his diction for the various narrators.And it sounds terrible, particularly when narrating women.
YOu should get a different narror for this wonderful book.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The son of Caesar calls to you.

“One does not deceive oneself about the consequences of one's acts; one deceives oneself about the ease with which one can live with those consequences.”
― John Williams, Augustus

John Williams read some Robert Graves and said, "Yeah, I got this Roman. I can do this." I'm trying to think of equivalent historical fiction that orbits the same level of prose mastery: Norman Mailer, Robert Graves, Hilary Mantel, E. L. Doctorow and a few others belong on this very short list.

There are some writers (like Pynchon, etc) who seem to find their groove and mine that style/approach for all it is worth. Others like Williams just appear to get bored with one style, form, or approach to literature. They want to master all. John Williams who is also known for his college novel Stoner and his Western Butcher's Crossing decided to give writing an epistolary, historical novel a try. What he created is one of the greatest historical novels of all time. Probably not as good as Robert Graves (or dare I say Hilary Mantel), but damn close.

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • N
  • 08-03-18

Send me to Pandataria...to die

If you want to experience Julia's painful exile to Pandataria, then pick up this audiobook. The male narrator does this impersonation of Julia that is absolutely brutal. The best way to describe the performance would be Barbara Bush impersonating an old woman. I think that's the best I can do. I would rather copulate with Julia after she's been infected with venereal disease by most of the Roman aristocracy. That at is at least treatable. Now I'm just stuck with this dude's voice in my head.

And the story is getting pretty high praise on here, and I'm a little surprised. The history is fine. The story of the Julian-Claudian reign is great. But so much of the exchange via letter is subject matter that both the sender and recipient know. I appreciate this is epistolary, but come on. Try harder. For example, a letter might start, "I know you're my son and married to _______." And the reader needs that information, but there are so many more graceful ways to convey the information e.g., "A mother will never experience the joy I did when you married _______." Or something. I just listen to them; I don't write them. But go check out I, Claudius or something else first.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

An interesting introduction to Roman history

What did you love best about Augustus?

The book is presented as a series of letters by people who know or knew Augustus constantly providing different perspectives and thoughts about a larger than life figure sometimes with the perspective of the times of the events sometimes years afterwards. It made for an interesting format. The book seemed packed with realistic details.

What other book might you compare Augustus to and why?

I cannot remember another historical fiction book with the constantly changing narrative device of Augustus.

Have you listened to any of Robin Field’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

No, but the narrator gave an impressive easy to follow performance. I was almost put off this recording by a negative review which I'm glad I ignored.

Any additional comments?

A very interesting read to introduce me to the character of Augustus Caesar. The book neither dwells long on gossip nor goes deep into battle tactics or economic theories. A good balance for me. I found he pace of the book good until the final soliloquy at the end which dragged a bit. I definitely recommend the book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Wanted to finish, but the narration....

Would you try another book from John Williams and/or Robin Field?

Robin Field - No! His attempt at voice acting was terrible, with the majority a minor variation of feminine pubescent boy voices. Unbearable. I tried twice to finish because the book itself is interesting but it just left me angry both times. Drop the voice acting.

How did the narrator detract from the book?

Feminine voice acting.

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

Read the book.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

poor reader

How did the narrator detract from the book?

This reviewer is hard to listen to. He has a dour reading style in this book and the other I've listened to, Stoner. His reading is replete with distracting mannerisms, such as his affected snicker. His characters are so pat that they seem to return from past books to the current ones. Others may like his style, but he makes all the writing seem flat and negative; and he distracts from the story at hand.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

John Williams is a stellar author and this is one of those books that proves it. A wonderful arrangement of fragments from the life of one of the great emperors of the Roman Republic. It is strange how Williams was able to make an engrossing story out of tidbits of information, mostly letters between people who lived during his reign. The narration was also wonderful despite some reviewers alluding to the opposite. It is one of those books that is packed with lessons and the parallels from that time to the time we live today part of what make the review of history so compelling. A very intriguing read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A moving history

The narrator does a superb job with all characters. The story is fascinating in its depth and detail. I may listen to this again as it took me a while to keep the players straight because of the Latin names. Lots of truths in here that certainly are applicable today.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An excellent choice!

It is certainly on its own a magnificent, highly engaging book, but the narrator turns it into a fascinating journey, so that I could almost visualize the scenes narrated, like watching a movie. Just great piece of work!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing History

Author stitched together actual ancient documents to reveal the true story of Caesar Octavius the August. Great timeless translation. Perfect

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for BCTyler
  • BCTyler
  • 01-11-18

great story, sometimes irritating performance

The cadence of the narrator's speech was at times annoying but the story and the structure of it was wonderful!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tamas Lorincz
  • Tamas Lorincz
  • 05-11-15

It was OK.

This is a book written in 1971 - and it shows. It would probably have been better read than listened to. I personally find letters and diary entries a rather tedious way of telling a story (there are some great exceptions, of course). Bringing in a new character writing about something no one would have written about is now way to deliver a story convincingly. I did grow on me, however and I quite enjoyed the second half of the book. This is mostly due to my fascination with the era and the characters rather than the book or the performance.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for harveyjx
  • harveyjx
  • 01-13-20

Beautiful writing, beautifully delivered

I came to this via Stoner, and very motivated as I am interested in Roman history. Having enjoyed Stoner, upon a friend's recommendation, I had high hopes. I was not disappointed. I want to shake the man's hand. To put into this form, the thoughts of Augustus and those immediately connected with him, in such detailed, compassionate and vivid terms is staggering. It took a while to get the hang of it. The slow read is not immediately gripping. If you are intending to get a 'hit' of excitement, this book will not deliver that. No action takes place. It is a slow meditative unfolding of an immense period in history from the principals involved, and whose (this is achieved so well) was always highly personal, subjective and shaped by their own personalities. It is very loving history. Williams must have loved this project to have left the midwest of America and gone to Rome to study and write this work. It is a work of art of the highest order. It would help you GREATLY to know something of the transition from Republican Rome to Imperial Rome, of how Augustus came to power through the Civil War(s) that Julius Caesar's hold on power and following assassination set in train. So perhaps, if you are a serious reader, get a little summary of that from somewhere to prep yourself and then you will be the reader that Williams wrote best for here. I loved it and will always treasure it.