Anna and the French Kiss

Narrated by: Kim Mai Guest
Length: 10 hrs and 25 mins
4 out of 5 stars (653 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris - until she meets Etienne St. Clair: perfect, Parisian (and English and American, which makes for a swoon-worthy accent), and utterly irresistible. The only problem is that he's taken, and Anna might be, too, if anything comes of her almost-relationship back home.

As winter melts into spring, will a year of romantic near - misses end with the French kiss Anna - and readers - have long awaited?

©2011 Stephanie Perkins (P)2011 Listening Library

Featured Article: 10 Young Adult Romance Book Series to Fall in Love With


Some of the best young adult romance books come in series, with characters you can fall for, and then follow from book to book. Whether you like your romance with a dose of dystopian danger and intrigue, are a fan of classic rom-coms and meet-cutes, or love brushing up with royalty, check out the best YA romance audiobook series for marathon listening. We’ve got a list of the 10 series with heart-thrumming romance stories to give you all the feels!

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    330
  • 4 Stars
    197
  • 3 Stars
    82
  • 2 Stars
    28
  • 1 Stars
    16

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    296
  • 4 Stars
    174
  • 3 Stars
    78
  • 2 Stars
    25
  • 1 Stars
    18

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    309
  • 4 Stars
    154
  • 3 Stars
    86
  • 2 Stars
    23
  • 1 Stars
    18

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

If you love dumb girls who depend on men's attention to feel worthy...

I hated this. Maybe I'm too old for it but it was so irritating so listen to this story with a girl written to be so stupid and dependent on everyone else (especially guys) to feel worthy of anything. I'm not even a feminist but this was unbearable. I only listened because it came highly recommended but holy wow it was bad.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A top-notch romance

This is one of my favorite recent contemporary books, and I was curious to see how the audiobook experience compared to the print version. This audiobook release was timed with the release of Lola and the Boy Next Door and I picked up both books to revisit.

The audiobook narrator is Kim Mai Guest, who has narrated several books including Incarceron, Dearly, Departed, and The Autobiography of Mrs. Tom Thumb. At first, the voice of Anna sounded a little bubblier than I imaged her. The narration reminded me a little of Delirium’s Sarah Drew and her portrayal of Lena. However, Guest quickly won me over with her interpretation of Anna and delivers an authentic performance. She also capably handles the nuances of the other characters including their different accents. She even does a fine job with St. Clair’s British accent, and captures the spirit of his character well. There is a roller coaster of emotions found in the book and Guest handles the different feelings needed with ease. The narration flowed well, and the only thing I wondered about is if it would have worked to have a male narrator for St. Clair and the other male roles. Not sure if I would have liked it more, but it did cross my mind.

I loved revisiting this book again and the wonderful Paris setting. If you’ve never read Anna or want to read it again, try out the audio version. It’s a treat to listen to and a swoon-worthy contemporary romance. I would definitely pick up other audiobooks narrated by Kim Mai Guest in the future.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very sweet!

Any additional comments?

I really enjoyed this book. Very sweet young love and everything that goes along with that. Communication issues, misunderstandings, jealousy, stupidity and in the end, love wins out!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awww!


Every time I approach a book with high expectations, I can’t help but to fear disappointment, but I’ve only been left with a giddy feeling of being 17 again and a totally melted heart.
After listening to this book, I’m not only in love with love, but I’m also in love with Paris, both exceptionally viewed through the eyes of seventeen-year-old Anna.

The brilliant performance of Kim M. Guest of Anna’s point view leaves you not doubt of the talented writing behind the character. The perfect approach to Anna’s personality clearly conveyed all her qualities and emotions, and in the process captures your heart.
Her lovely English accent, tone and manner for Atennie brought him to life in just the way you imagined from Anna’s point of view.
The French accent, gave the book the perfect ambiance, and it truly makes you experience Paris with all its romantic glory.
I especially liked the way the emotional undercurrent was kept throughout the entire book.
Ultimately, this was an excellent and worthy delivery of this terrific book.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not for Me

It's possible I'm too old to understand why this book is so beloved. The main character is extremely dim, which bothered me immensely. Also, there were no consequences, no revelations, no nothing. Anna was the same person at the end of the book that she was in the beginning. Not that every book has to show growth. But there were two throw away sentences at the end that were meant to be the character's "growth moment" but it was incredibly half-assed. The love interest was a typical "does shitty things but he's just so darn cute it's ok". And I can't stand by that. The writing was very juvenile which would have been fine if Anna was say 14 and not 17-18. All in all, if you like smart, proactive protagonists, I would not recommend this at all!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A cute cliché

It was a cute story from the beginning. Perfectly captures the feelings of a girl in love or with a massive crush. The narrator's british accent could've been better. It was predictable but it's light and easy to listen to and you can easily like the characters and the way they react to each other. Quite realistic on that front. Maybe best for an audience below the age of 18.
Anna's naive character can be either adorable or annoying depending on how you take it. I liked the book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic!

To be honest I had some trouble adjusting to the voices but after a while it really grew on me. Plus it is a fantastic story!!!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect for fans of Meg Cabot

Updated 9/1/2012: 2nd reading of this novel and it filled me with more happiness than the first time. I was able to get a better feel for the minor characters (Rash, Josh, and Mer) and loved them - I would read about their own adventures as well. Of course, I fell in love with St. Clair and I can't believe I forgot how much I adore Anna. Still love this book as much (if not more) than I did the first time I read it.

My first "Chick-Lit" book. If you're wary, DON'T BE! It doesn't matter if you don't think Chick-Lit will be for you or not - you will adore this book. I have been on a YA Contemp binge lately and this has been my favorite so far.

A short list (from a long list) of things that I loved:

Perkins' writing style is free-flowing, nice, and true to the heart of a teenage girl.

Anna is likable. Is she perfect? No, but she is imperfectly perfect. I want Anna as my best friend.

The idea that home can be a PERSON, and not a place.

This book made me feel warm and fuzzy and just plain HAPPY. I smiled while I was reading this book - not (always) a giddy "hehehe - he's so cute" smile - but a genuine smile. That, above all, is what made me fall in love with Anna and the French Kiss.

Tatiana from GoodReads recommends this book for fans of Meg Cabot and I couldn't agree more.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Story

Anna and the french kiss was one of the most wonderful stories I've read .. It's has all the elements I love about a high school love , and in Paris , I really want to go there so bad .. I absolutely love this book and the narration was good too most recommended

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Take a trip to Paris

Anna and the French Kiss is a novel that I own. I have read it over 6 times and listened to it 4 times on audible. It is hands down my favorite young adult novel that I have ever read. I would highly recommend both reading it and listening to it. Kim Mai did a great job telling the story and I don’t think I could say much more than, take a chance and dive into a sweet romance in Paris.