All That’s Bright and Gone

A Novel
Narrated by: Jesse Vilinsky
Length: 9 hrs and 16 mins
4 out of 5 stars (70 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Jodi Picoult and Fredrik Backman will fall for this tenderhearted debut mystery following a young girl on a quest to save her family.

I know my brother is dead. But sometimes Mama gets confused.

There’s plenty about the grownup world that six-year-old Aoife doesn’t understand. Like what happened to her big brother Theo and why her mama is in the hospital instead of home where she belongs. Uncle Donny says she just needs to be patient, but Aoife’s sure her mama won’t be able to come home until Aoife learns what really happened to her brother. The trouble is no one wants to talk about Theo because he was murdered. But by whom? 

With her imaginary friend Teddy by her side and the detecting skills of her nosy next door neighbor, Aoife sets out to uncover the truth about her family. But as her search takes her from the banks of Theo’s secret hideout by the river to the rooftops overlooking Detroit, Aoife will learn that some secrets can’t stay hidden forever and sometimes the pain we bury is the biggest secret of them all. 

Driven by Aoife’s childlike sincerity and colored by her vivid imagination, All That’s Bright and Gone illuminates the unshakable bond between families - and the lengths we’ll go to bring our loved ones home.

©2019 Eliza Nellums (P)2019 Blackstone Publishing

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    6

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Book, Hard Listen

Firstly, this book it great. However, it’s read from the perspective of a 6 year old child who’s experienced some trauma. Much of the book, she’s crying or whining or asking questions. I haven’t even finished it yet. I’m trying to as fast as I can because listening to a child whine for almost 10 hours is ROUGH.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not so Bright and Gone

This was a boring story. The child’s voice became almost too much to bear. I kept wanting the kid to grow up and have an adult voice and finish her story no such luck. I would not recommend it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I miss being a child

Why did I grow up? Am I an adult? I feel like for the first time in so long living inside the head of this child took me back to a place where everything that happens is meaningful , and also takes so long. How distracted are we as adults to have our lives move so fast... not sure if the title is supposed to reflect on a good piece of that, but overall the book captures the essence of innocence in our complex adult lives. The reader for this audiobook was incredible at times 2.6 speed. Perfect little girl voice and pacing and emotion. Would reccommend this for anyone who wants to feel like a kid again going through relatable trauma.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Bright and Beautiful

A beautiful story about a child's struggle to find her place in her family, and the world.